Symptoms? Or in my Head?

Since finding out I’m pregnant, I have been very very very much in tune with every little thing that my body is doing.  I’m aware of every single sensation, every cramp, every twinge and each time I feel something, I wonder if it’s just me being me or if it’s because I’m pregnant.  So far it’s still very early.  As of today I’m just 4 weeks and 3 days pregnant (if you go based on when I ovulated), and most people say symptoms don’t really start until you get to 5 or 6 weeks.  So far the only things I’ve noticed that seem to be “pregnancy-related” are (1) my breasts are very sore and tender,  (2) I have some uterine cramping mostly in the morning when I first wake up and then it seems to subside once I get up and walk around, aside from a few twinges here and there throughout the day, and (3) I’m peeing more than usual (but it’s hard to tell if that’s because I’m drinking more than I was before).  Every now and then a wave of nausea sweeps over me but that’s only happened a few times, so I can’t really claim having “morning sickness” quite yet.

Four of the people I’ve told about my pregnancy are all people who have had babies within the last year, so I feel good having them to go to as resources and as sources of information.  One of them, my good friend Rachel (who has the most adorable baby, Johana), sent us 3 books in the mail that should be arriving any day now!  One is the classic, “What to Expect When You’re Expecting,” one is meant for Ken to read, and one is about healthy eating while pregnant.

Leave a Reply

