Do cravings really exist?

I’ve talked about this with a few friends before… the idea of cravings.  Do they really exist?  I mean sure… you can really want to eat something but is it just because you like it or is it because you’re pregnant?  My mom claims that cravings are related to your nutritional  needs… for example if you’re craving something like ice cream or milk, perhaps it’s calcium that you need.  If you’re craving carrots, perhaps it’s vitamin A.  If  you’re craving pickles, maybe you need more sodium.  I also talked with a friend and we came to the conclusion that cravings are probably just cultural and psychological.  If you tell yourself  you’re going to have cravings, then you probably will have them.

Well my new theory of cravings is this… whether it’s because I’m pregnant or because I’m just Anna and I have a wide range of foods that I enjoy, as long as my cravings are for (relatively) healthy things, there’s no reason not to give into them.  For example, on Friday I started to really want tortilla chips with guacamole.  I could not stop thinking about how tasty tortilla chips with guacamole are and that was all I thought about eating all weekend.  So finally last night, we went over to our friends’ house in between Mardi Gras parades, and our friend made some guacamole.  Avocadoes aren’t that great for you (they have a lot of fat), but on the whole, they’re better than a lot of things I could have been craving (say a double chocolate fudge brownie sundae).  So my new theory is that as long as whatever I’m craving has some actual nutritional value, there’s really no reason to not give in.  So for some reason today I’ve gotten my mind stuck on tomato soup.  Guess what I’m having for lunch?!

On another note, our first doctor’s appointment is just a week from today so I’m hoping this week will go by very quickly.  Good thing there’s a lot to think about between now and then, including our Mardi Gras parade this afternoon, Mardi Gras Day tomorrow and Ken’s birthday on Sunday!

Leave a Reply

