Pregnancy Check-In #2: A Green Olive

Pregnancy Check-In #2

How far along? 9 weeks

How big is baby?

Maternity Clothes? I did buy 2 Maternity shirts because most of the shirts I have for work are more tight-fitting.  These two shirts are more loose and flowy so that they still look good without a belly bump but they are made of stretchy fabric so they’ll grow with me.  I also bought two of those Belly Bands–one in black and one flesh colored–that I can start wearing over my pants when my pants become too tight to button.  Most people say that they started to wear some maternity stuff around 11-12 weeks and that the rest of the world caught on that they were pregnant around 17-18 weeks.  That will be right around the time of graduation!   

Sleep? I’ve been sleeping fine so far… with the exception of a few nights here and there. 

Movement? Nope

Food Cravings/Aversions? Last week, for the first time, I had a craving for Apple Cinnamon Cheerios, so I went out and bought them late at night and had a bowl for dessert!  They really hit the spot. 

Gender? I think it will be fun to do all the gender predictor tests and so far I’ve done one… the Chinese Gender Chart says it’s a BOY.  I also had my first pregnancy dream a couple of nights ago, and in my dream it was definitely a BOY.

Symptoms? My breasts are killing me.  Sometimes the little bumps around my nipples become very moist, and they’ll cause my nipple to stick to my bra and then when I take my bra off, it pulls some skin with it.  It can be very painful.  They will also sometimes become very tingly and the only way to relieve that feeling is to press against them with my arms.  This can be rather awkward in public!

What do I miss? Definitely still sushi.  And maybe having an alcoholic beverage every now and then.

Best Moment This Week? It was so great having my parents and Ken’s parents in town all weekend.  Also, I had my Bat Mitzvah on Saturday and it felt great as soon as I finished my Torah Portion, to do the blessing and hear what the Rabbi had to say about the work and effort I put into preparing for my Bat Mitzvah.  It felt like a big accomplishment to do that at the age of 26, 13 years after most people have their B’Nai Mitzvah.

What I am Looking Forward to? Tomorrow I will probably be going in for a quick Ultrasound in the morning because I had a little bit of spotting yesterday.  The doctor said I can come in for some “peace of mind.”  Then on Monday I have my (almost) 10-week appointment at 9 weeks and 6 days. 

Milestones? The Bump tells me that my little olive is no longer an embryo but is now a fetus.  That’s a pretty big milestone!  Baby Center says it’s about the size of a grape, and they give me the following progress report:  “Your baby’s heart finishes dividing into four chambers, and the valves start to form — as do her tiny teeth. The embryonic “tail” is completely gone. Your baby’s organs, muscles, and nerves are kicking into gear. The external sex organs are there but won’t be distinguishable as male or female for another few weeks. Her eyes are fully formed, but her eyelids are fused shut and won’t open until 27 weeks. She has tiny earlobes, and her mouth, nose, and nostrils are more distinct. The placenta is developed enough now to take over most of the critical job of producing hormones. Now that your baby’s basic physiology is in place, she’s poised for rapid weight gain.”

Leave a Reply

