Pregnancy Check-In #4

Pregnancy Check-In #4

How far along? 15 weeks

How big is baby? This week, baby is the size of an ORANGE!  That seems huge to me, so I’m surprised I’m not really obviously showing  yet.  Tomorrow is “hump day bump day,” so I’ll be sure to take a picture to show you all! 

 

Maternity Clothes? I bought one pair of maternity black dress pants from Target the other day, and wore them to work on Friday but the problem is my belly is not big enough  yet, so they kept falling down.  This week I’ve taken to wearing my regular pants unbuttoned, with a hair tie keeping them closed, and putting one of the Belly Bands on the outside to cover up the fact that my pants are unbuttoned and unzipped.  this seems to work well, and is very comfortable! 

Sleep? Have not been sleeping well at all this past week because Ken’s been away–he left on Tuesday but he’ll be back tonight for a few days anyway!

Movement? I thought I felt some “flutters” a few times, but Ken made fun of me this time and said it’s probably just gas bubbles.  So now, whenever I feel these “flutters,” I tell him I had a few more “gas bubbles.”  I have a feeling that even when we know it’s the baby kicking, we’ll joke and say they’re just really big gas bubbles.  Who knows though… could just be gas bubbles.  The best way I can describe it is that it felt like my uterus was having muscle twitches.  It would happen a couple of times, then stop and then happen a couple more times and stop.  It’s usually been in the early afternoon, shortly after eating lunch. 

Food Cravings/Aversions? I finally went out for sushi a couple of nights ago and it was DELICIOUS!  I haven’t really been craving anything lately, but the thought of eating straight up chocolate (like a chocolate bar) is still really gross to me.  I could eat chocolate ice cream but the thought of straight up chocolate is kind of disgusting.

Gender? I had my second visit with the MFM this past Thursday, and both the Ultrasound Tech and the doctor looked again and they both said they STILL think the baby’s a girl!  But… they said that to be totally sure we need to wait until 16 weeks (which will be next week, so it’s not THAT long to wait).

Symptoms? Just heartburn.

What do I miss? Working out.  Sleep.

Best Moment This Week? I went to jazz fest on Sunday with my friend Kathleen and two of her friends who are visiting from out of town.  Jazz fest was  alot of fun, and I really liked her friends!  It felt as though I could have known them since high school, that’s how comfortable I was around them. 

What I am Looking Forward to? Ken’s coming home tonight!

Milestones? The Bump tells me that baby is squirming around a lot and might even be hiccuping, but I probably can’t feel it quite yet.  Baby Center tells me that the baby is busy moving amniotic fluid through her nose and upper respiratory tract to help her lungs develop, and that her legs are now longer than her arms.  Apparently she can move all her joints and limbs and she can sense light even though her eyelids are still fused shut.  We should try this sometime… apparently if you shine a flashlight at my tummy, the baby will move away from the beam of light.  I wonder if I would be able to feel the baby moving in that case?!  And finally, baby is also forming taste buds this week! 

Leave a Reply

