Hump Day Bump Day!

I’m at work today, and I’ve been wanting to take a Hump Day Bump Day photo all day… but I haven’t been able to find a way to do it.  I kept bringing my phone with me to the bathroom but then every time I was in there, there were other people there and I felt like I would look weird or awkward taking a photo of myself in the bathroom.  So I decided to just ask the lady who sits in the cubicle next to mine if she would take a photo of me.  When I posed, she said, “you don’t really have much of a baby bump yet!” but I said I still wanted to start taking weekly photos, so she obliged me nonetheless.  Here it is… my Baby Bump at 15 weeks and 1 day!

On a slightly unrelated note, I had my monthly appointment this morning with my regular OB.  This was only my second visit with her, and this time Ken was able to come.  The last time I saw her was the day that Ken had his surgery, so he wasn’t able to be there and I went by myself.  This time we had a chance to ask her some questions, including questions about her philosophy about delivering people with a Unicornuate Uterus, and we found that she’s very much on the same page that we are on.  In addition to talking to her about stuff, she also found the baby’s heartbeat with the doppler machine.  Her basic philosophy is that women have been birthing babies since there have been women, and that unless an intervention is needed, doctors should sort of back off and let the woman do what the woman’s body is going to do.  If something goes wrong, then there is a time and place for doctors to intervene, but until there is some real reason for it, there’s no need for interventions.  Ken & I agree that she’ll be a good doctor for me, and that we feel comfortable with her delivering the baby.  She said for a lot of things relating to the high risk nature of my pregnancy, she’s going to just defer to the MFM because that’s where her area of expertise is.  But overall we really liked her.  I realized that she is more of an “east coast mentality” in that she speaks much faster, thinks much faster, etc. but that doesn’t mean that she’s in a rush or in a hurry, whereas I did feel that way the first time I met with her.  Sometimes speaking quickly can come off as the speaker being in a hurry to be done with the conversation but in her case, I think she gave us all the time we wanted, she stayed long enough to answer all of our questions, etc. she just speaks much faster.

Leave a Reply

