16 weeks & Visibly Pregnant

Today I am 16 weeks pregnant and baby is the size of an Avocado!  Yummmm… guacamole! 

As far as milestones and new developments are concerned, the baby is now about 4.6 inches long and weighs about 3.5 ounces and he/she is big enough that the doctor can hear the heartbeat on a doppler (in fact, the doctor did find the baby’s heartbeat last week using her hand-held Doppler machine.)  The baby is now developing tiny bones in the ear and this means that he/she can listen to my voice.  He/she is also growing hair, eyelashes and eyebrows and is forming tastebuds!  Over the next few weeks, the baby is supposed to double its weight and grow significantly in length too.  And as far as the heart is concerned, the baby’s heart is now pumping about 25 quarts of blood each day and this amount will continue to increase over the next several months. 

Now that I am visibly pregnant, and it is becoming more and more obvious to people that I do, in fact, have a baby bump and not just a layer of puffiness around my middle, I have had a couple of “firsts,” and a couple of observations to share with you.

First time someone who didn’t know asked if I was expecting: Friday morning, I walked into a meeting with some people who I see probably every other week.  I was wearing my first maternity dress–a wrap dress from Motherhood Maternity that clearly accentuates the baby bump–and one of the ladies in the meeting said to me, right as I walked in the door, “Are you expecting?”  One of the other ladies looked at her with a look of horror that said, “You DO NOT ask somebody that unless you are 100% certain they are pregnant!” but to her surprise, I said, “yes!  I am!”

First time somebody didn’t even ask but just assumed I’m pregnant: Saturday morning, I went to our synagogue for services and for a Kiddush Luncheon honoring our friend, Alan, who will be leaving New Orleans tomorrow to move to New York to be closer to his daughters.  I was wearing the same dress mentioned above… and two ladies came up to me and without even asking, said, “Oh!  I didn’t know you were expecting!  When are you due?”  While I would much rather look pregnant than puffy and chubby, I also don’t know how much I like having it be so obvious and clear to people.

Observations… Being visibly pregnant is like wearing a sign on your face that says, “Please come up to me and share with me your scariest stories about pregnancy, childbirth, and parenting.  Please ask me how often I pee, how much I’m eating, how much weight I’ve gained, and how much my breasts have grown.  Oh… and definitely please give me all of the unsolicited advice you can think of about pregnancy and about becoming a first-time mother.”

I’ve definitely learned my lesson which is to (a) ONLY comment on someone’s being pregnant if they are very obviously pregnant, and to (b) NEVER offer unsolicited advice or opinions about pregnancy or childbirth or child-rearing.

Leave a Reply

