It’s a girl!

4 weeks ago, when I went for my first visit with the MFM, at 12 weeks and 2 days, I asked both the Ultrasound Tech and the doctor whether they thought they could tell the gender of the baby, and they both said they were pretty sure it’s a girl.  Then 2 weeks ago, at 14 weeks and 1 day they both said they are still pretty sure it’s a girl, but they said to be really certain we should wait to have it confirmed at 16 weeks, so yesterday when I went to the MFM at 16 weeks and 1 day, they both said they still think it’s a girl.  I asked the Ultrasound Tech though, “how certain are you that it’s a girl?” and she said, “about 80% certain.”  So I asked her if she would feel comfortable telling people, and she said she would probably wait another week or two before announcing it to the world, but that she was pretty sure it’s a girl… AND since all of our parents and Ken’s grandmother and Ken’s brothers and our sister-in-law are ALL going to be here next Friday for Ken’s Medical School graduation, we’ve decided we are going to go ahead and tell them all next Friday by doing a “Gender Reveal” cake!  It will be white on the outside and pink on the inside, or we might make cupcakes that are neutral colored on the outside and will have pink filling on the inside.  Now that we know you’re a girl, we can stop calling the baby “it” or “he/she” and we can start calling you “she” and “her.”  I can start dreaming about things like this:

and this:

and this:

I have always wanted to have two kids, and to have one of each… so to be completely honest, I didn’t really care if this first baby was a boy or a girl… but now that we know this first one is going to be a girl, I would really like for the second one to be a boy.  I know Ken was really hoping to have a little boy, but I think a lot of that is because he grew up with two brothers and was never really around little girls very often when he was little.  The thought of taking a girl to ballet, of dressing her up with bows and ruffles, and of having to deal with a teenage girl’s hormones and emotions, is terrifying to Ken.  But I also have a feeling that the minute this little baby girl is born, Ken’s going to fall madly in love with her.  She will have Ken wrapped around her pinkie finger so tightly and she’ll be able to just bat her eyelashes at him, and say, “Please, Daddy?!”  and he’ll melt right there in front of her.  I’ve always wanted a little girl because I know that my mother and I have always been very close and have had a great relatinship so I hope that I can have that with my daughter, too.  I saw this adorable list, called “50 Rules for Dads of Daughters,” which made me tear up just reading through it, but I think this really sums up how important it is for Daughters to have strong Father-figures in their lives and for their Fathers to be intimately involved in raising them.

I think Ken will learn to love these:

but what’s most important is that we will love this baby no matter what, and she will always know how much we wanted her in our lives!  And next time we can try for a little boy!

Leave a Reply

