Week 19 & Our Trip to Disney

Today I am 19 weeks pregnant, so baby is the size of a Mango!  Another website I use sometimes said the baby is the size of an Heirloom Tomato.  I suppose it doesn’t matter that much what fruit you choose, but baby’s getting bigger every day, and that’s really all that  matters.

I can’t believe that next week I will be half-way through this pregnancy!  And the truth is, because of my Unicornuate Uterus, my pregnancy is probably going to be a bit shorter than 40 weeks, so I’m probably already half way through the pregnancy!  If I go 38 weeks, then today is the half-way mark… if I go 37 weeks, then we’re already more than half way through!  Obviously as far as the health of the baby is concerned, the goal is to get as close to 40 weeks as possible, but I’ve sort of set a personal goal for myself to get at least to 35 weeks which means just 16 weeks to go.  That’s crazy and scary and exciting all at once!

Just this morning we got back from a very fun and exciting weekend in Florida!  We flew to Orlando on Friday after work, and my cousin Morgan picked us up at the airport.  Saturday morning we woke up and went first to the Magic Kingdom and then to Epcot in the evening.  We had dinner at Tokyo Dining in the Japan Pavilion at Epcot.  Sunday we went to Epcot in the morning, followed by the Magic Kingdom in the afternoon and then we met my cousins at Downtown Disney for dinner at a lovely Italian restaurant!  Yesterday we spent the entire day at Disney’s Hollywood Studios (formerly known as MGM Studios), where we went on my favorite ride of the whole weekend, the Toy Story ride!   It was probably one of the best rides I’ve ever been on–it was like being inside a video game and was very flashy and colorful, interactive, etc.  It was also in 3D and Ken always gets a kick out of seeing me wearing 3D Glasses because I have a very strong reaction to 3D Movies, especially when there are things flying at my face!

Going to Disneyworld isn’t as much about seeing all the characters as it was when I was younger (when I would get one of the Autograph books and try to get an Autograph from every princess we could find) but we still had fun getting our photo taken with Winnie the Pooh & Tigger. 

When we were waiting in line to see them, this little boy (who was wearing a Tigger hat!) and his mom got in line behind me and his mom told him they were going to see Tigger, but both characters had just stepped out to go use the restroom, so I told him, “Tigger just left to go to the Potty but he’ll be back soon!”   The little boy then started asking, “Where’s Tigger?” and shouting, “Tigger, Come back!  Come back, Tigger!”  Just a few minutes later, Tigger came back into the room, and the boy shrieked.  Ken came over and said, “Is everything okay?” and I told him everything was fine–that the shriek was a shriek of joy and excitement, not of pain or sadness.  The boy was soooooo excited and kept trying to run up to Tigger, but his mom kept restraining him.  Finally we and the people in front of us said that he could go ahead of us because he was clearly more excited about seeing Tigger than we were.  When he finally got up there, he proceeded to give them big hugs and then he started jumping up and down from excitement.  Winnie the Pooh and Tigger jumped up and down right along with him and this continued for several minutes.  The little boy didn’t even care about having his photo taken, he was just so excited to see them and wanted to just jump up and down with them.  While all of this was going on, a small crowd developed to watch this interaction, and everyone got quite a kick out of the whole thing.  Such innocence and joy are hard to come across these days, it was adorable!

Leave a Reply

