25 Week Update

Today we’ve reached 25 weeks… and I would be excited about it, except that I woke up at 2:30 AM to pee, and then I couldn’t get back to sleep at all… I tossed and turned and couldn’t find a comfortable position in which to sleep.  Even with the Boppy full-body pillow that my mom got me, I just couldn’t get comfortable.  I know I was still awake at 3:30 and at 4:30, and then I must have fallen asleep sometime between then and 6:30, since I didn’t wake up again until the alarm went off.  When people ask me how I’m feeling and I tell them I’m tired because I can’t sleep, I HATE hearing that it’s just my body’s way of preparing me for when the baby gets here and we have to wake up every 3 hours to feed her or change her diaper.  NOT HELPFUL!  Maybe the 3rd trimester will be payback for having had such an easy 1st and 2nd trimester… I can already feel the payback coming–I’ve had a lot of aches and pains, and very little sleep for the past few days. 

This week the baby is the size of an eggplant or a cauliflower, and according to Baby Center, the baby is about 13 1/2 inches long and she weighs about a pound and a half.  She’s finally putting some body fat onto her body, and her wrinkled skin is smoothing out to make her look more like a baby and less like a little alien.   She’s also growing more hair and apparently if we could see it, we would be able to tell what color and texture it has.

Other than the no sleeping and aches and pains, I don’t really have much of an update to give.  From here on out I think we just sort of start coasting towards the finish line.  There are some exciting things coming up in the next couple months: next Friday (the 20th), I leave for San Francisco for my Baby Shower which will be on Sunday the 22nd.  My best friend, Julia, and my godmother, Sheila, are planning the baby shower and it’s going to be at my parents’ house.  I’m really looking forward to that!  Just 2 weeks later, Ken’s parents are driving down to New Orleans from New Jersey with a van full of baby stuff from Ken’s older brother, Jon, and his wife, Sara… they’ll be here from August 7th-11th.  August 8th is our first Childbirth Education class, and August 11th we will be going on a tour of the Family Birthing Center at Touro Hospital, where I’ll be delivering.  The following week (August 16th), my friend Leah and her boyfriend will be coming to visit for a few days from Dallas.  A couple of weeks later (August 24-26) is the dedication weekend for our Synagogue’s new building, which will be a wonderful and joyous celebration, and then the following weekend (August 31st) my mom will be coming into town for Labor Day.  She leaves the day after Labor Day, and then my birthday (and the first Saints game of the season!) is on Sunday, the 9th.  At that point I’ll be almost 34 weeks pregnant and I’ll probably be waddling around like a duck and anxiously awaiting the end of my pregnancy.  Luckily all of these fun events in the next several weeks will make the weeks fly by!

Leave a Reply

