27 weeks: Hello 3rd Trimester!

Today we have made it to 27 weeks… one more week and I get to have that “small glass of champagne” that my doctor said we can use to celebrate making it that far.  We can also breathe a small sigh of relief knowing that if the baby were to be born, she would probably be okay.  It’s so amazing how quickly this pregnancy has been progressing.  I feel like it was just yesterday that Ken and I were talking about how we were “going to start trying to get pregnant in January.”  We didn’t realize it would happen so quickly, but it did and the baby will be here before we know it! 

This week the baby is the size of an eggplant or a Rutabaga, and here’s what we can expect from her this week:

Your baby at 27 weeks:
  • She’s practicing inhaling and exhaling with her rapidly developing lungs.
  • It’s official: Baby’s showing brain activity! And her brain will keep on getting more complex.

This past weekend, I flew home to San Francisco for my Baby Shower which was Sunday at my parents’ house.  My best friend and my god-mother did most of the planning, along with my mom, and the shower was absolutely perfect!  There were probably about 25 people there and it seemed like everyone had a really good time. 

The dessert table that we set up had a bunch of children’s books on it, and each book had something to go along with it–“If you give a Mouse a Cookie” had chocolate chip cookies that Julia had made, “Madeline” had madeleine cookies, “One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish” had swedish fish, and “Corduroy” had a jar of buttons.

In another area, Julia made little terrariums for everyone to bring home as party favors, and they went along with the theme from the book, “The Giving Tree.”

My friend Amelie also came up with this very cute idea for everyone to decorate onesies, so my mom and Sheila bought plain white onesies in sizes 0-3 months, 3-6 months, 6-9 months and 12 months.  Even though they thought they had bought way too many onesies, every single one ended up getting decorated.  My mom bought some stencils and fabric markers for people to use to decorate them.  Some of them look like they were professionally designed and like they could actually be sold in stores… and some of them are just cute and creative.  All of them will be fun to put on the baby, and it will be a fun reminder of how much fun we had at the Shower.  (In the photo below, the one in the middle is the one I decorated!)

I can think of parties I’ve had in the past where some of the presents I got were a disappointment compared to others, or where one or two presents stood out as being the best presents, but I really think at the Shower, every single present was cute and adorable in some way and I honestly can’t think of a single thing that I don’t want to keep!  There are a few things I’m going to return or exchange because they’re the wrong size based on the season… (i.e. we got some summer dresses for size 3 months, but the baby will be 3 months old in January so it will be too cold to wear them), but other than that, I love all of the gifts we received and I can’t wait until the baby is here so we can dress her up in all of her cute clothes!  Of course some of the most special gifts we received were the ones that were hand-made: we got several hand-knit baby blankets from my mom and my god-mother, some hand-knit sweaters from my mom and hand-knit hats from my god-mother.  We also got a dress that one of my mother’s friends is hand-smocking for the baby!

In addition to all of the presents we got at the Shower, my mom and I also went through lots of boxes of clothes that she had saved from when I was a baby.  I had a bunch of really cute smocked dresses and other fancy outfits and it will be fun to put them on my baby knowing that I wore them when I was a baby.  Some of them are particularly special–the knit dress I wore to my Baby Naming can now be used for our Baby’s naming ceremony, and the dress I wore to my first birthday party can now be for our baby’s first birthday.  Surprisingly, baby clothes never seem to really go “out” of style, so I don’t think it will look like she’s wearing clothes from the ’80’s.

So I had an awesome weekend, though it would have been nice to stay for another day or two in order to hang out with my parents a bit and have a little time to do more in the city, but it was a lot of fun over all and it’s so hard to believe that the next time I see a lot of the people who came to the shower, I’ll have my baby girl with me!

Tomorrow I’ll post a HDBD photo since I failed at posting one last week!

Leave a Reply

