It’s Wednesday…

and that means it’s Hump Day Bump Day!  Here’s me, this morning, at 29 weeks and 1 day.  I look exhausted because that’s how I feel.  Also, Ken (who has the day off today) was being lazy and wouldn’t get out of bed to take this picture, so it was taken by him, while seated in bed. 

I must have pissed off the Pregnancy Goddesses last week when I complained that my belly didn’t seem to be growing, because my belly is definitely bigger now and feels very stretchy.  Apparently the baby will be undergoing a huge growth spurt over the next few weeks so it makes sense.  My belly’s gotta expand to accommodate her! 

In other pregnancy-related news, I went to a meeting last night of the La Leche League at Zuka Baby.  There were about 15 women there, probably half were pregnant and half had little babies (the oldest of whom was about a year old), and two of the new mothers also had their own mothers (i.e. the grandmas!) with them.  We went around the room to introduce ourselves and talk a little about any issues or questions we had, and then we got to ask questions.  It was very eye-opening to hear all of the new mothers talk about the struggles they’ve had with breastfeeding, because it made me very much aware of how little I know… there were all these terms like “latching on” and “let-down” and “engorged” and “output” that I know nothing about.  I think it will be very helpful to continue going to a group class/meeting like this and also to read a book on breastfeeding.  I guess it’s just always been something I’ve wanted to do and I figured that it’s a natural process so it should come pretty easily but I think there’s a lot I don’t know and could stand to learn.  So that’s my task at lunch today–to go to a bookstore and find a good book about breastfeeding!  

And one more piece of pregnancy-related news: Ken and I have our first Childbirth Education Class tonight at the hospital where I’ll be delivering.  The topic of tonight’s class: “Birth Plan, Early Labor & the Stages of Labor.”  More updates are sure to come after our class!

Leave a Reply

