30 Week Update!

How far along? 30 weeks–only 10 weeks until my due date (which is only 70 days from now!)  For some reason, counting down in days makes it seem much closer than counting down in weeks.  Plus think about it… 61 days is exactly 2 months!  Scary!

7 weeks until we reach “full term” (37 weeks), and according to my doctor, 6 weeks until we’re “golden”!

Size of baby: Baby is about the size of a cucumber or a squash.

Loving this week: I love feeling the baby moving around–now it’s a little easier to tell when she’s kicking, elbowing me, rolling around, or just shaking her head since different body parts feel different and different types of movements are easier to distinguish.  I just can’t wait to see what she looks like and to kiss her little cheeks and give her my finger to grasp onto!

Milestones:  Apparently this week, baby girl is strong enough to grasp a finger!

Gender: She’s still a girl as far as we know… next ultrasound isn’t until the day after Labor Day (i.e. 3 weeks from today) so we can double check then, but as far as we know, she’s still a little lady!

How’s the belly look: Getting bigger and bigger but it still seems to depend a lot on what I’m wearing, and I have a line of hair on my belly going down from my belly button.  Some people seem shocked when I tell them I’m due in 10 weeks and some think I should pop any day now.  Everyone definitely has an opinion and nobody is very good at keeping their opinion to themselves.

Movement: Constant, it seems… though the doctor said you can never have too much movement!

What I’m wearing: Well it’s hot out… so on the weekends I’ve been wearing sun dresses, skirts and t-shirts, and to work I still have to wear slacks and nice tops.  Plus, inside they usually crank up the A/C as high as it can go, so it’s freezing.  This morning when I got dressed, Ken told me I looked like I was ready for winter, and for hibernating!  I guess it’s cause I’m wearing dark colors–black pants and a dark purple shirt.

How’s sleep: Not too bad… I’m not really uncomfortable, and I don’t really get up to pee in the middle of the night.  There are just still days where I’ll wake up at 3 or 4 in the morning totally unable to get back to sleep for no reason.  That’s really annoying!  It’s just hard to turn my brain off sometimes… so much to think about!

Mood & energy: I had my first mini break down the other night… Ken was getting in bed to go to sleep, and I said I had to go check something… I went into the baby’s room and I just started crying.  There’s just so many emotions mixed together and I haven’t really had a good cry yet throughout my pregnancy.  I’ve just been acting so excited, but really I need to acknowledge all of the emotions I’m feeling… of course I’m happy that we’re having a baby, and I’m excited to meet her, but I’m scared of labor and delivery, I’m scared of being mostly by myself with the baby for the first few months, I’m scared that I’ll feel really lonely and isolated, etc. etc.  I think all these emotions are normal but the other day they all started to feel very overwhelming.

What I’m craving: I really haven’t had cravings… but when I first think of having a snack, usually the first thing to pop into my mind is a piece of fruit–I love summer fruits, and we’ve got a lot of them in our kitchen at the moment–cherries, peaches, plums, nectarines, etc.  Yummy!

What I’m missing: Cooler weather.  When it’s nice out, Ken and I like to go on walks together, and it’s just too damn hot to do that these days.  I can’t wait until the weather starts to cool down a bit so that we can go on some walks around the neighborhood together.  Plus, they say that when you’re in labor, or trying to get labor started, that walking can be one of the best things for you! 

Any new symptoms: It’s not really a new symptom (I had it in the first trimester, and then it went away in the second trimester, but now it’s back to rear it’s ugly head) but I’ve been having a lot of Heartburn.  It’s gotten horrible… to the point that I’m taking 2 Pepcids a day and about 6-8 Tums.  The worst thing about it is that it doesn’t seem at all tied to what I’m eating.  At least people who have acid reflux can tie their heartburn to certain foods–tomato-based foods, spicy foods, greasy foods, etc.  but my heartburn happens no matter what I eat!  It sometimes makes me not want to eat at all. 

Looking forward to: Thursday!  My friend Leah, who I haven’t seen in over a year, and who was one of my best friends in college, is coming to town with her boyfriend, Luke.  They are driving from Dallas and will stay with us from Thursday through Sunday.  I’m really excited to see her and to meet her boyfriend.  We don’t really have any plans but it will be fun to show them around and play tourist with them a little bit!

Leave a Reply

