34 Week Update

How far along: 34 weeks!  Just 6 weeks to go until my official due date, but chances are baby will be born sometime before then.  At my regular OB appointment this Friday we may start talking about days to schedule a C Section… that would give us a definite end date!
Size of baby: Baby is the size of a Honeydew Melon or a Butternut Squash.  At my last doctor’s appointment on Wednesday, the doctor predicted that the baby is about 4 lbs. 10 oz.

Loving this week: the Weather!  For the past couple of days the weather has cooled off a bit and we’ve had much less humidity.  Of course, I haven’t really been able to spend much time outside but it’s nice for the few seconds it takes me to walk from the house to my car and from my car back to the house.  Maybe this afternoon I’ll go on a nice long walk outside when I get home from work!  Or maybe I’ll even make it to the gym this evening!
Milestones: One big milestone is that from here on out, if I were to go into labor, the doctor wouldn’t do anything to stop my labor, she would just let me progress.  Before 34 weeks if I had gone into labor, she would have done what she could to stop labor from progressing.  Also, according to the Bump, baby is listening to our conversations and may be able to recognize songs that we sing to her.  Apparently some babies start to “drop” around this time as they move lower in the pelvis.  I still feel like her head is lodged in my lung all the time, which makes it hard to breathe sometimes and which can be quite uncomfortable at times!  
Gender: As far as we know, she’s still a girl! 
How’s the belly look: Getting bigger on a daily basis!
Movement: Lots of it!  Lots of little kicks down low, more and more hiccups, and I can feel when she starts shaking her head or rolling around a little.
What I’m wearing: I finally got a doctor’s note excusing me from wearing tights at work, so I can comfortably wear dresses and skirts without having to wear tights.  Usually at work I’m wearing one of my two pairs of dress pants with a nice top or a dress.
How’s sleep: Sleep?  What’s that?  Lately, even if I take Benadryl to help me sleep, I still wake up at 2:45 in the morning for no reason–I don’t have to pee, I’m not particularly uncomfortable, I just wake up and I’m wide awake! 
Mood & energy: I’m starting to feel overwhelmed by everything, which is causing to be a bit more teary-eyed lately, and my energy level has definitely gone down a bit in the past few weeks. 
What I’m cravings: Cereal!  And fruit!  And every now and then, frozen yogurt!
What I’m missing: Feeling like myself and not being stuffed up.  This is the second cold I’ve had in the past 4 weeks or so, and I’m just over it already!
Any new symptoms: Not really…

Best moment this week:  My birthday was a lot of f un!  Friday night Ken planned a big dinner at an Italian restaurant in the French Quarter with about 15 friends, and then a bunch of us went out to get dessert at my favorite dessert place, Sucre!  Sunday, which was my actual birthday, we went out for a Birthday Breakfast right when Ken got home from his first overnight shift, and then we watched some baseball and football.  In the afternoon I had my “surprise” baby shower that Ken planned with the help of some of his Mason brothers’ wives, and then Ken went home to sleep and I went out with my friends Liz and Liz–we went out for ice cream and then to see a movie, called “Sleepwalk With Me” which was pretty funny!  Yesterday, two of my coworkers took me out for a birthday lunch at a Vietnamese restaurant I had never been to, and that was a lot of fun!

Leave a Reply

