37 week HDBD Photo

Here we are at 37 weeks and 1 day!  Our kitten, Boudreaux, decided he wanted to be in this week’s photo, too, so here you have me, BGL and Boudreaux!

Later today I have an appointment with the MFM.  Hopefully she’ll do an internal exam to let me know how dilated/effaced I am (on Friday with the regular OB I was 1 cm dilated so we’ll see if I’ve made any progress) and she’ll probably give me an estimate of the baby’s size.  I will not be at all surprised when she tells me that the baby’s still breech since I can still feel her head way up high, though it does feel to me like the baby has dropped a bit/my belly has descended lower into my pelvis. 

On Friday when I saw the regular OB she said that even though I’ve got my C-Section scheduled for the 16th, she doesn’t think I’ll make it that far… partially because I had already started dilating and partially because I’ve already been having some contractions here and there.  My personal goal is to make it to Sunday night/Monday morning at the earliest because we have tickets to the Saints game on Sunday night and I would like to be able to go to at least this one game this season, even if the Saints are doing horribly this year (they’re 0 and 4 so far this season!)  And really… it might even be nice to make it to Monday night/Tuesday morning since Monday night is the Simchat Torah celebration at our Synagogue (this is definitely Ken’s favorite holiday since it involves dancing around with the Torah, drinking, and then a day of sitting around a table with our Rabbi philosophizing (is that a word?) about all kinds of deep and profound topics).  But really I would be fine with the baby coming anytime now… I’m ready to be done being pregnant and just start this next chapter!

At work, things have been piling up on my plate and people don’t seem to understand that at this point in my pregnancy I should be wrapping up projects, not adding more work to my to do list.  This afternoon I will (hopefully) be finally meeting with my supervisor to figure out who will be doing all of the things that I do regularly while I’m out.  I’ve written out detailed instructions about how to do everything  for whoever does take over, but I still don’t know who that will be.  People keep asking me, “Who should I talk to about x, y and z while you’re out?” and up until now I’ve had to say, “I don’t know!” but hopefully this afternoon I can give all of those people some answers. 

Well that’s all for now… I’m sure I’ll have another update after my doctor’s appointment this afternoon.  Until then, Happy Wednesday morning!

Leave a Reply

