Not-so-Wordless Wednesday: Happy Mardi Gras!

2.13.2013

I wanted this post to be “Wordless” but there’s a little too much on my mind… yesterday was Mardi Gras–it was also 1 year to the day after we found out I was pregnant!  Last year, February 12th was the Sunday before Mardi Gras.  Our parade was supposed to roll on February 11th but because of weather, it got pushed to the 13th.  I knew that I would be able to take a pregnancy test on February 12th because of the timing of my cycle, and I figured that either way I would be able to celebrate… either I would find out I was not pregnant, in which case I would be able to have a few drinks on our float and at the after-party or I would find out I was pregnant and I would be so happy about not being able to drink.  So I brought a big bottle of water with me on our float last year!  It was a wonderful way to celebrate!

It’s so amazing to think how much has changed in the last year… at this time a year ago, there was so much uncertainty about my pregnancy and how it would go.  We were both anxious and scared about the possibility of miscarriage, pre-term labor, incompetent cervix, intra-uterine growth restriction, and the other complications that can arise from having a Unicornuate  Uterus.  We were both shocked that I got pregnant so quickly–the first month we tried–and it felt like we were kind of in a daze for a few days as the news settled in.  We also didn’t know what we were going to do with ourselves as far as Ken’s residency was concerned… should we stay in New Orleans for another year?  Go to Maryland in June (at which point I would have been 4 months pregnant)?

Now, one year later, we have a 4-month old baby girl who has given us so much joy and happiness!  (She has also given us stress and anxiety and a few sleepless nights, but her smiles make it all worth it!)

Leave a Reply

