Love! <3

Even on nights like last night, when I was up with Julia from about 12:30 until 4 in the morning, and when I feel frustrated and upset that she’s not going to sleep and angry at myself for getting frustrated, it’s important to remember that I love her so much and that her smiles make it all worth it!

At times it’s important, for my own sanity, to set her down in a safe place, like her crib, and as long as I know she’s safe (clean, dry, fed, not in pain, not in danger of being hurt), to step away for a few minutes.  At one point last night, that’s what I did… I put her in her crib, went in our bedroom and turned off the monitor for a few minutes so I could have a moment to clear my head.

It’s important to remind yourself, when you have a baby, to take each day one day at a time, and that most things she’s going through right now, whether with eating or sleeping or being fussy, are just phases… very short phases in the grand scheme of things!  What’s 2-3 months of not sleeping well?  When she’s 5 and getting ready to head off to Kindergarten for the first time, we’ll forget that we didn’t sleep for a couple of months, and we’ll look back on these months fondly because of pictures like these:

Last night we tried on the Bumble Bee costume that one of my coworkers gave us as a hand-me-down.  I’m thinking that Julia will wear this for our Synagogue’s Purim Party this weekend!

2.20.2013.3

2.20.2013.4

And this morning, after we finally got her to go sleep (by unswaddling her and bringing her in bed to cuddle and nurse to sleep) and we slept for about 3 hours, she had some early-morning cuddles with Daddy.  She may make me feel very frustrated at 3 AM, but this cute face makes it all worth it! 2.20.2013.2

2.20.2013

Leave a Reply

