Chag Purim Sameach!

We had a very busy but great weekend!  Friday night, after work, we dropped Julia off with our friends Evan and Jade.  They are the ones expecting a baby girl in May.  They watched Julia for us while we went to Shabbat Dinner at our Rabbi’s house.  We had a great time and enjoyed a lovely dinner with some great company!  A good friend of ours was back in town for Purim so it was great to see him.  Everything went well while Evan and Jade watched the baby, so I don’t think they were too terrified!  They even got her to sleep for about 2 and-a-half hours unswaddled!

Saturday Ken was on call so the baby and I had a busy day together… first I took her to the doctor in the morning because she is still coughing from the cold she got almost 3 weeks ago.  The doctor said that she has a case of the “Daycare Funk,” i.e. it’s normal to get a cold a month during her first year at daycare and it’s normal to get a cough accompanying a cold that could last anywhere from 3-4 weeks.  By the time she gets over one cold, it’ll be time for the next one.  So basically we can expect her to be sick almost constantly for the next year.  Poor baby!  At least it doesn’t affect her mood too much and her sleeping seems to be a bit more back on track.  (Last night she slept 6 hours, woke up to eat, then went back down for 3 more hours!  And… as I’ve noticed, the earlier we get her to sleep the longer she sleeps, so we need to start sticking to a bedtime between 7 and 8 PM).

After the doctor, I had an appointment to get my eyebrows waxed, so my friend Liz came with me and took the baby on a walk in the stroller while I got pampered!  After that, we came home and took a nice long nap before getting ready for our Synagogue’s Purim Party (but first we had to play around in the mirror a little!)2.25.2013

2.25.2013.2

The Purim Party was fun–I had been going back and forth all day about whether or not I wanted to even go, since the baby does so much better sleep-wise when we stick to an early bedtime, but I really wanted to go since it was so much fun last year.  I’m glad I went since it was a lot of fun–the Megillah Reading is always fun, our Rabbis made a very funny Purim Video, and there was pizza and beer for dinner!2.25.2013.3

Yesterday we had another busy day–first we had Brunch at our friends’ house, followed by the Purim Seudah (feast) at our Rabbi’s house and then dinner at the house of another Rabbi with his wife and 6-month old baby girl!

I’m hoping this week and weekend will be somewhat more low-key than it has been recently.  We could use some quiet nights at home after all the excitement we’ve had.  Next week, my friend Holly is coming into town so it will be nice to see her and I’m sure we’ll be running around a lot with her so we could use a week to recharge and relax a little.  So here’s to low-key and relaxing week ahead!

Leave a Reply

