A Recipe: Chocolate Chip Banana Lactation Muffins

So remember how I told you a few weeks ago about how I was going to put forth 100% effort to increase my milk supply?  (It’s worked by the way… I used to only be able to pump 9 oz. at work each day and lately I’ve been pumping 11-12 ounces at work!)  Well one of the ways in which I’ve been doing that has been by baking various “Lactation” Baked Goods… I’ve made 2 batches of “Lactation Cookies,” using these two recipes:

I was not really a fan of that first recipe… I think the peanut butter made them very crumbly and dry.  It also didn’t help that when I made them, I didn’t have enough eggs so I had to make some substitutions.  The second recipe was much better, so much so that Ken even ate a few of the cookies!  (No, he did not start lactating!)

Well last night, I had to do something about our almost rotten bananas so I decided to make some tweaks to my usual chocolate chip banana muffin recipe in order to make them into Chocolate Chip Banana Lactation Muffins!  They actually turned out surprisingly delicious, so much so that I might even consider making them even when I’m done breastfeeding!

So here you go… We can call them Anna’s Banana Chocolate Chip Lactation Muffins

Ingredients: (makes 12-15 muffins)

  • 3-4 very ripe bananas
  • 1/3 cup of butter, very soft or melted
  • 1 cup of sugar
  • 1 tsp of vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp of baking soda
  • Pinch of Salt
  • 1 cup of flour
  • 1/2 cup of rolled oats
  • 2 Tbsp. Brewer’s Yeast
  • 2 Tbsp. Flax Seed
  • 1 cup of chocolate chips
  • 1 cup of chopped nuts of your choice (optional)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350.  Put muffin wrappers in a muffin pan.

In a large mixing bowl, mash up your very ripe bananas.  Add the soft or melted butter and mix until blended.  Add vanilla and egg and mix until blended, then add sugar and mix until blended.

In a separate large mixing bowl, mix flour, baking soda, salt, Brewer’s Yeast and Flax Seed until blended.

Add the banana mixture into the dry ingredients.  Once well blended, mix in the rolled oats.  Then add chocolate chips and nuts (if you are using them) and mix well.

Once all ingredients have been well mixed, fill each muffin wrapper about 3/4 of the way with batter.  Bake 25-30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out dry.

Let cool on a cooling rack, then eat and enjoy!

Some people have asked where you can find some of these more specialized ingredients–well I found the Flax Seed at my regular grocery store, and I got the Brewer’s Yeast at a GNC down the street from our house.  Here’s what they look like:

Brewers Yeast: brewers yeast

Flax Seed:Hodgson-Mill-Milled-Flax-Seed-Gluten-Free-071518010157Also, I can share a tip I learned… normally when I bake with nuts or chocolate chips, they all seem to sink to the bottom of what I’m baking, so all the chocolate chips end up at the bottom of the muffin rather than evenly sprinkled throughout the muffin.  Well one trick I learned to prevent that from happening is to lightly coat the chocolate chips or nuts in flour before mixing them into your batter.  So just put like a teaspoon or two of flour into a bowl, and stir  your chocolate chips and nuts around in the flour first, then put them into your batter.  This will help keep them evenly distributed throughout your batter rather than letting them fall to the bottom of your muffins!

Please let me know if you try this recipe and what you think of it, or if you make any tweaks to it to make it even more delicious!

32 thoughts on “A Recipe: Chocolate Chip Banana Lactation Muffins

  1. Hi, I made these maybe a couple months ago in hopes to increase my milk supply, and they were excellent! They were so good my husband and daughter ate them as well. Unfortunately I didn’t notice an increase in my milk supply, and that may have been because I didn’t get to eat many of them?! I would make them again and again whether nursing or not, but super ripe bananas are so difficult to come buy in our house. However I am revisiting this recipe with the idea of using apples, cinnamon and walnuts. Thanks so much for sharing your delicious recipe!

  2. Pingback: Celebrate the season with Pumpkin Lactation Muffins | Bonjour bébé

  3. I just made these today and they are delicious! I only made one minor change, I used half cup of white sugar and half cup of brown sugar. I’m not sure if it increased my milk supply but I will definitely be making these again anyway. Thank you for sharing this delicious recipe!

  4. I made these today and only had one. I pumped an extra 3 ounces on my first pump after eating one! Also, these tasted really good! Thanks for the fab recipe!

  5. i love these! They are so god and easy to make! I use mini chocolate chips and they work awesome, much better than the reg ones I think 🙂 thanks for the recipes!

  6. Hi! I was wondering will it affect the recipe if I don’t use brewers yeast? I couldn’t find it at the store near me..

  7. Made these last night for a grab and go snacks plus help with lactation. They turned out great. I ended up putting white chocolate chips in as well….half chocolate and white chocolate. Does anyone know what the nutritional intake is?

  8. Making these for the 2nd time because they are tasty and they work! I’m working to increase my supply to combat the drying-up effect of my allergy meds. I eat a couple muffins a day and I’m getting at least 6 oz per pumping session.

    I subbed coconut oil for butter, and used whole wheat flour, 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup regular, and dark chocolate chips. Yum!!

  9. Pingback: Recipes to Increase Lactation - Aeroflow Breastpumps

    • Making it in a bread tin, I would increase the cooking time by about 10 minutes. Take it out and check for done-ness. If it’s not done, put it in for another 5-10 minutes. Muffins definitely take less time to bake.

    • I’m not sure how many calories are in each muffin… I haven’t tried to calculate that, and it also depends how many muffins you make from the batter!

  10. Pingback: Banana Cuppies: Lactation Muffin Recipe – onenuttybaker

  11. These muffins are SO good! I made a batch exactly as described with absolutely no changes, and they’re the perfect blend of banana and chocolate chip. I’m overdue with my first child, and I am freezing these muffins for when I need that 3am snack or perfect breakfast to wake me up. Thanks for posting this fantastic recipe!

  12. Yum! Made these yesterday, so good! I don’t have lactation issues, just wanted something yummy that would still benefit my baby and whoa.. I have to only eat one. First feeding after eating one I was leaking… Overnight I was rock hard -ouch! Glad they work! I am passing these along to my sister!

Leave a Reply

