Small Victories

Some people may find it strange to take photos of your bodily fluids and to post them on the internet, but I am very proud of the difference  you will notice between these two photos because of the hard work I have put in to cause the difference.

On January 7th, my first day back at work, I pumped 7 ounces of milk.  The next day, I pumped just over 8 ounces (and took a picture because I thought an increase of 1 ounce was awesome. milk day 1 After that I sort of stagnated at 9 ounces/day.  But daycare kept telling me she needs more milk, she needs more milk!

Then I decided a few weeks ago to put forth 100% effort to increase my milk supply and to increase my pumping output, and look how much I pumped at work today:milk today

12 full ounces!  I pumped last night after Julia went to sleep too, so I only need 2 more ounces for the day, which means that I don’t have to stress out about waking up to pump in the middle of the night.  If I have enough milk in the fridge for the next day by the time I go to bed each night, I can relax, I sleep so much better, and I feel as though a load of bricks has been taken off of my shoulders because I don’t have to think about getting up at 2 AM to go pump more milk to top off her bottles.

So you might think those are weird photos, but to me they represent all the hard work and effort I’ve put into breastfeeding and they show that I’ve succeeded!

 

One thought on “Small Victories

  1. Good for you!! As a fellow mom who has had to go back to work, I can empathize with your pumping stresses. I love following your blog. I had my little boy Oct 30, so our babies aren’t that far apart! Keep up the good work, mama!

Leave a Reply

