Parenting and Politics

Last night was a lot of fun–my friend Ani-Jane and I went out to dinner at a Mexican place around the corner from our house with our baby girls, and then we went to the La Leche League Meeting.  When I first started going to the La Leche League meetings before Julia was born, I never imagined I would be one of the moms there with an older baby or that I would be one of the people giving out advice and information but having made it almost 5 months now, without any supplementation, makes me one of the success stories.  Last night I was one of the moms with an older baby and I was giving out advice and information.  One woman even said I was a “god-send” the other day–I ran into her at the grocery store a few days ago when she was out with her 6-week old after a particularly difficult night of breastfeeding.  She looked like she had been in tears for hours and was happy to have made it out of the house.  I told her promised her that things get better, and specifically said that once the baby can smile consistently, she’ll feel so much better.  I then gave Julia a big smile and she smiled and cooed back at me, just confirming what I was trying to tell this lady!  Last night she seemed to be in slightly better shape.  The first 6-8 weeks with a baby are so hard and make you question everything you’re doing but if you just keep going and get through those first couple of months, it starts to feel so much more rewarding and things start to get so much easier.  There are still bad nights here and there (like last night when Julia just did NOT want to go to sleep) but the general trend as they get older is that it gets easier.

There was one lesbian couple at the meeting last night who had an interesting story.  They wanted to make sure that both moms could be recognized on the birth certificate for their son (who is 5 weeks old), but since Louisiana doesn’t allow same-sex parent adoption (also called Coparent or Second-Parent Adoption by Same-Sex Parents), they had to travel to a different state to have their baby.  So before the baby was born, they drove from Louisiana to Washington, DC and had the baby there.  Both moms are listed on his birth certificate as his legal guardians.  That’s just another sad case of politics getting in the way of people making the parenting decisions that they want to make for their children.

(On a side note, this was the same topic that we had for our Moot Court class during my first year of law school!)

That’s all I’ve got for you this morning… have a happy Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

