Not-so-Wordless Wednesday

Hello and a Happy Wednesday to you!

If ever I am having a bad day or am feeling down, all I have to do is look at pictures or videos of my baby girl and immediately my heart feels warmed!

3.27.20133.27.2013.2

I have a couple different things to talk about today…

#1) Seders.  The past two nights, we have attended Seders, and though they were very different, we had a great time at both of them.  Monday night we went to our friends Holly & Isaac.  The timing worked out perfectly–I got to their house around 7 PM, nursed Julia until she fell asleep and then put her in the pack n’ play that Holly set up in their guest room for us, and Julia slept from about 7:45 until about midnight, at which point the Seder was ending and it was time for us to go home anyway!  The Seder itself was lovely, and we had a great time with their family.  Holly’s parents were there, and a few of Isaac’s coworkers were there as well.  We had some great discussion, delicious food and some good laughs!  Holly & Isaac’s daughter is 3-and-a-half, and watching her really made me so excited for the future with our daughter!  She is so full of life and energy and curiosity about the world.

Tuesday night we went to the home of some new friends–the Rabbi at Anshe Sfard, his wife and their baby girl–Julia didn’t do quite as well, but once I got her to sleep, she slept for about 3 hours at their house in the pack n’ play that they had set up for her to use.  It was a very different crowd–the Rabbi’s parents and an older man who’s a member of their Shul–but we had a second great evening!  The food was especially delicious (don’t read this, Mom: their brisket was better than my mom’s brisket!)

#2) Breastfeeding.  This is a topic that’s pretty much constantly on my mind, and today the Breastfeeding Forum on the Bump is getting blown up with drama, so I’ve been thinking about a couple different things related to breastfeeding today!

First: Julia is almost 6 months old and so far she has only ever had breast milk and rice cereal (which we started at about 5 months and 1 week because she seemed ready for it).  Of that, I am very proud!  I’ve put in a lot of work to be successful at breastfeeding and it has not always been easy but I am so happy that I put in the effort and stuck with it.  Especially at the beginning, when Julia was nursing for hours at a time and it felt like I was a human pacifier, it would have been so easy to say to Ken, “Just make her a bottle of formula and feed that to her so she’ll stop nursing and I can sleep!”  But I knew that any drop of formula she got would potentially hurt my milk supply since the best way to tell your breasts to make more milk is to keep nursing.  I am really proud of myself and Julia for sticking with it and we’ve gotten to a point now where it’s really enjoyable.  Once she’s a year old and I don’t have to pump anymore, I think it will be even more enjoyable since I’ll be able to nurse her whenever she wants to nurse but I won’t have to make sure that she gets a certain number of ounces of breast milk.  I’m sure there will be more bumps along the way, as she hits growth spurts, or when she gets teeth, or when we’re ready to wean, etc. but I’m just feeling really proud of myself this week!

Second: I have a confession to make.  Before Julia was born I definitely judged women who didn’t breastfeed.  My thinking went like this: “If you’re going to have a baby and put your body through 9 months of pregnancy to bring a child into this world, you should do what’s best for your child and that is so clearly breastfeeding.  Sure, you say you don’t want to use your body in that way, but that’s what  your body was designed to do.  Sure, you say formula will be easier, but it’s not the best thing for your baby…” you get the idea.  Basically I judged hardcore.  I judged people who didn’t want to try breastfeeding and I judged people who gave up too easily.  I judged everyone!

But now that I have a baby, I don’t judge any of those people anymore.  My feelings now?  As long as you’re feeding your baby, I don’t really care how you feed them!  Breastfeeding is hard work, it consumes you, it becomes an obsession, and it takes a lot of time and dedication.  It’s not for everyone, and I definitely see the appeal of giving formula, so I don’t judge anymore.  If you don’t feel like breastfeeding is for you then don’t do it, but don’t judge me for pulling out my boob in public when my baby wants to eat!  Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

