Another Blog Post on the Bump and Happy 6 Months to my Baby Girl!

I had another blog post published on the Bump’s blog last week!  Check it out here! It’s all about trusting my new mommy instincts and doing what feels right as a mother.  It’s been a common theme in the past few weeks on this blog, too!

And on another note, happy half birthday to my baby girl!  I know that I will always say this as we reach milestones with her, but the time has truly flown by.  I do not know where the last 6 months have gone!  It’s amazing that we went so quickly from being a couple to being a family.  Julia Rose has brought so much joy and happiness into our lives.  I keep saying this and I really truly feel this way: each day and each week with her is just better than the last as she becomes more and more interactive, more interested in the world around her, more playful and she learns more all the time.  She’s now learning to sit up, learning to use her hands more to manipulate the world around her–to bring toys closer to her, to touch things she sees in front of her, etc.  She’s also recently figured out that she can make different sounds with her tongue and her lips and she’s able to babble a lot more and make sounds like “dadada.”  (I can’t wait till she starts saying “mamama” but I do know that “dada” is much easier to say than “mama” for babies.)  We’ve started feeding her solid foods and so far she’s had rice cereal, sweet potatoes and bananas.  Next on the list is avocado.  After that, we haven’t decided yet… in the next few weeks we’ll probably try peas, carrots, apples, pears, squash, mango, etc.

I’m just loving every minute of being a mother (yes, even the 4:30 AM feedings!) and I am so excited for what the future holds with our baby girl.  I’m excited to see her personality emerge in the coming months and to continue to watch her grow and develop.

And now a quick recap of our weekend, which was very low-key: 4.8.2013.4

Friday, Ken was on call, so I went out to an early dinner with my friend Liz at the new burger place down the street from us, called Charcoal’s.  After dinner I came home and put Julia to sleep.  Friday night was not the best night she’s had as far as sleeping is concerned, but it was still better than it had been a few weeks ago.  4.8.2013.3

Saturday, we walked down to the Farmer’s Market in the morning with our other friend, Liz.  I got some beets and goat cheese.  Julia took a 2-and-a-half-hour long nap on Saturday afternoon, after which we went to vote and then we had a quiet and low-key evening (I made a quinoa dish with roasted beets, goat cheese and walnuts) before Ken left to go play poker with some of the ophthalmology residents.  4.8.2013.2

Sunday was another relatively low-key day.  We had a play-date in the morning with some mommy and baby friends at a place called Palm Tree Playground while Ken went to watch the Orioles game.  We spent much of the afternoon just relaxing, and then we made pasta with meatballs for dinner, and we went to bed very early!  I was probably asleep by 9:30 PM.  4.8.2013.5

4.8.2013

We have a lot of excitement coming up soon… this week should be relatively low-key aside from Julia’s 6-month checkup on Thursday morning!  Then Sunday I’m planning on taking the baby to Ponchatoula, which is about an hour drive away, and we’ll be meeting some of the ladies I met on the Bump with their babies, for the Ponchatoula Strawberry Festival!  Next Wednesday, the 17th, Ken’s parents are arriving for a visit until the 21st, and on the day that they leave, we are going to our friend Jade’s Baby Shower!  Just a few days later, on the 25th, I’ll be leaving with Julia for another plane trip–this time, to Baltimore, to look at houses and apartments for us to potentially move into in a couple of months!  And my parents will be meeting us there!

Leave a Reply

