Before having a Baby…

Before having a baby, I used to obsessively plan my life months or even years in advance.  By the time I was 10  years old, I had this perfect timeline in my mind, I had a life plan.  Since having Julia, I’ve learned to take life one day at a time and live in the present.  I don’t know what Julia will be like next week, much less three months from now, so I can’t tell you today what we’ll be able to do with her a few months from now.  I’ve learned to go with the flow a little more since so much depends on her now!

Before having a baby, I wanted to have 2 or 3 kids with about 2 or 3 years between them.  I still want to have another baby eventually (I want Julia to have a sibling), but I don’t feel ready to make a decision about when we should start trying to have a second baby.  I want to enjoy as much time as possible with Julia as an only child before we add another child into the mix.  While she’s still a little baby, I want to give her all the attention she deserves.

Before having a baby, I used to judge parents I would see out and about for all kinds of reasons.  Now that we have Julia, I wonder sometimes how other people are judging us, and I have (mostly) stopped judging other parents that I see out and about.  (Of course there are some things I will always judge–hitting your child, not keeping them safely strapped into their car seat, etc. but for the most part, I have stopped judging people’s parenting decisions.)

Before having a baby, I used to use the word “never.”  Now I fully understand the meaning of the phrase, “Never say ‘never'”!

Leave a Reply

