Attempting to be Super-Mom this Afternoon!

Well folks, Ken left early this morning for Denver for a conference (he’s presenting a poster on a case he worked on… that’s my smarty pants husband for you!) so this afternoon/evening it’s just me and the baby getting ready for our trip.  Our flight to Baltimore tomorrow is at 6:40 AM.  Goal is to be at the airport by about 5:15 or 5:30, which means leaving by 4:45 or 5.  My alarm is already set for 4 AM.  So here is my schedule for the rest of the day (hoping it goes at planned):

3:30 PM-leave work, get gas, and pick up baby from daycare

4:15 PM- arrive at home, wash bottles and pump parts, move laundry from washer to dryer

4:30 PM- play with baby

5 PM- feed baby some solid foods (we’ve started using some of the pouches of baby food so I’ll probably try giving her one of those, maybe mixed with some baby oatmeal)

5:30 PM- baby bath time (this will be my first time ever giving the baby a bath all by myself!)

6 PM- Nurse, and then hopefully she’ll go to sleep easily!

Once baby’s asleep I have a lot to do…

  • Put stroller & Ergo in the trunk of my car
  • Pack Diaper Bag
  • Pack Suitcase  (don’t forget baby food, spoons, bibs, diapers, wipes, burp cloths, blankets, toys, books, canopy for stroller, etc.)
  • Eat Dinner
  • Fold Clean Laundry
  • Do the dishes
  • Empty the Litterboxes
  • Feed the Cats
  • Pump
  • Clean pump parts
  • Shower

And then… provided the baby is still sleeping at that point, I can go to sleep and then wake up at 4 AM to get ourselves to the airport on time.  My plan for the morning is to park in the airport’s long-term parking garage, carry the diaper bag, push Julia in the stroller and roll my suitcase to the terminal.  I will be checking our suitcase, and then putting Julia in the Ergo carrier to get ourselves through security.  Once through security, I can ask at the gate whether there are any empty seats on the plane.  If there are, I will bring the carseat onto the plane for Julia to sit in, but if not, then I will gate-check the stroller and the carseat and will keep Julia in the Ergo carrier to get onto the plane.  My only carry-on will be the diaper bag.  Luckily we don’t have a layover and my parents are picking us up in Baltimore (they are flying there as I write this).

Provided everything goes smoothly tonight and tomorrow morning, I will feel entitled to start calling myself “SuperMom” and using this badge periodically!supermom

Leave a Reply

