At this time a year ago…

At this time a year ago I was 17 weeks pregnant.  I thought I looked pregnant and I thought I needed to wear maternity clothes.  I was getting excited about being close to the half-way point in my pregnancy and we were getting ready for our trip to Disneyworld.  Ken’s graduation was coming up and we were looking forward to our parents’ visit.  We were also getting ready to move to our new house.  It’s so funny to look back and realize how much has changed in a year–in our personal lives, our professional lives, our family, etc.!  We’ve changed so much and our hearts have grown so much as we’ve gotten to know our little bundle of joy.  It’s amazing what can happen in a year! baby bump 17w1dIt used to be that after work we would want to go out and socialize.  We would want to meet friends for drinks, dinner or dessert.  We were always out and about, getting together with friends.  Now, when work is over I want nothing more than to go pick up Julia from daycare, take her home, nurse her and snuggle with her.  I cherish moments like this since I know they only happen for so long… 5.14.2013Two of the ladies who sit near me at work have kids who are graduating from high school this week, and hearing their conversations over the past couple of weeks has made me realize how important it is to enjoy every minute that we have with Julia as a baby.  Before we know it she’ll be walking and talking, then talking back, asking for the keys, and then eventually we’ll be packing up the car and taking her off to college.  As cliche as it sounds, I’m really trying to learn to just live in the present.

One thought on “At this time a year ago…

Leave a Reply

