Happy Memorial Day!

Since Ken is working nights this week, and started on Saturday night, we had a pretty low-key 3-day weekend, which was just what I needed.  This has been a really hard rotation for Ken both physically (long hours) and emotionally (very sick patients, had a patient die for the first time, etc.)  Friday Ken ended up getting stuck at work until almost 9 PM, and when he got home we had homemade sesame noodles for dinner.  Before that, Julia and I hung out on the porch for a while, ate some dinner, and then she went to sleep!  Here we were on the porch swing Friday afternoon: photo

Saturday, our goal was to get Ken shifted to a night-time working schedule, so in the morning we went to his Masonic Lodge’s Crawfish Boil, then he came home to take a nap in the afternoon.  The Crawfish Boil was a lot of fun!  The Masons are a really fun group of guys and they have really welcomed Ken with open arms.  We are definitely hoping Ken will find a good Lodge to join up in Baltimore, but I know that we’ll really miss a lot of these guys here.  Since people up north don’t really have any concept of what a Crawfish Boil looks like, here are some images of the one we went to!  image_1

image_2

image

Crawfish boils are really unique to the South and there’s nothing quite like them up in Baltimore… even though Ken can’t eat crawfish, I know he’ll miss them a lot!  There’s just something really fun about pouring a bunch of spicy boiled seafood, sausages, corn, potatoes and mushrooms onto newspaper (or into a boat) and getting dirty pulling it apart and eating it, all while drinking beer and just hanging out with good friends in the heat and humidity!  And the smell… crawfish boils have this very distinct smell.  It’s a good smell and one that we will surely miss!

At the crawfish boil, Julia was in a pretty good mood most of the time… she took a nice nap in her car seat and a had a lot of fun playing with some of the older kids who were there.  As long as she’s in the arms of someone she knows, she’s generally happy to go around to different people in a game of “pass the baby,” but if she’s in the arms of a stranger, she has started to develop a bit of stranger anxiety.  Here you go: once picture of her with someone she had never met before and one with someone she had already seen a few times before… can you tell which is which? image_4

image_3

When we got home from the crawfish boil I tried to get Julia to take a nap in bed with me but she wanted nothing to do with a nap, so instead we went out for the afternoon while Ken stayed home to nap.  We went to Liz’s house for dinner… she had some friends staying with her for the weekend and they were grilling some hamburgers and corn on the cob.  Julia had a lot of fun playing while dinner was cooking and then I held her while I ate dinner.  photo

As I was eating my corn on the cob, she seemed very interested in what I was doing.  She kept trying to grab at my corn.  I decided to just give it a try and put it in front of her to see what she would do.  She ended up licking it and gumming at it.  Since she doesn’t have any teeth, she wasn’t actually able to get any of the kernels off but she sure seemed to like the flavor!  It was pretty cute actually…image_1

image

Sunday morning when Ken got home from the hospital, we went out to brunch with Liz and her friends and Kathleen and Justin (they are moving up to St. Louis so this was probably our last time getting together with them).  We went to a place called Elizabeth’s, which is in the Bywater.  I had a delicious smoked salmon and brie grilled cheese sandwich with fried eggs on top and breakfast potatoes on the side.  I tried to see if Julia would eat any of Ken’s cheesy grits but she was completely uninterested.  She did look really cute in the star overalls my mom got her, though! image_2

In the afternoon while Ken napped, Julia and I went on yet another looooong walk through the Garden District.  At one point we went inside a store to escape the heat and play a little… Julia really likes this toy bar we got at one of my baby showers that can go across her stroller or her carseat.  This was the first time she was really interested in playing with it!  image_3

When we got home, Julia went to sleep and then Ken and I hung out in the backyard with our landlords/neighbors.  After Ken went to work, they invited me to join them for dinner and I had a lot of fun just chatting with them and enjoying the beautiful weather.

Monday was Memorial Day, so I had the day off from work!  Julia and I went with Eva (one of the little girls next door) and her grandparents down to the French Quarter!  We took the streetcar there (which Julia loved) and then we walked around the French Market (where I got Julia a sign for her room), walked through the Quarter and stopped for Coffee & Beignets at Cafe Beignet on Royal Street.  image

image_2

image_1

It was a really wonderful morning and made me realize how much I will miss living in such a fun city.  It also made me realize how much we will miss our landlords!  We have really become good friends with them and their daughters have a lot of fun playing with Julia.  Hopefully we’ll keep in touch with them though, and we’ll be able to visit them when we come back to town in the future!  Julia loves playing with them, so I can’t wait to find her some new friends when we get to Baltimore.  It will be really important to find other moms with babies so that she can have fun with other kids and I can have that camaraderie with other moms!

image_3

image_4

So it may seem like we did a lot this weekend but it still felt really low-key and relaxed.  Before the weekend started, we didn’t have any specific plans to do anything.  Everything we did was relatively spontaneous, and we had a lot of time to just relax at home.  The best part of the weekend, of course, was yesterday morning when Julia and I had time to just nurse and snuggle together.  Photos like this remind me of what is so wonderful about nursing and make me so glad that I stuck with it those first few months when it was so hard and all-consuming!photoNow I’m back at work for one more week… Monday will be my last day.  After that we’ll be packing and getting ready for our big move!  Even though my last day at work is Monday, June 3rd, Julia will still be in daycare until Monday the 10th.  While she’s in daycare I’ll have time to pack at home.  Her last day at daycare will be on the 10th, which is the day the truck is getting packed up and also when my parents get to town.  It’s crazy to think that two weeks from today we’ll be hitting the road for our move to Baltimore!

One thought on “Happy Memorial Day!

  1. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something.
    I think that you can do with a few pics to drive the message home a bit, but other than that,
    this is great blog. An excellent read. I’ll definitely be back.

Leave a Reply

