Happy Birthday to Me!

Today’s my birthday!  I’m 28 years old!  For my birthday, I put the following wish list together:

1) Sleep in until 7 AM

2) Shower

3) Go to the bathroom by myself

4) 15 minutes to myself to read a book

It’s amazing how much your priorities change when you become a parent!  Before the baby I would have asked for money to go shopping, new clothes for myself, a manicure and pedicure, etc. but now that I have a baby, the things I value are much different.  I do like having some time to myself and getting pampered is nice now and then but for the most part, I love spending time with my family and don’t really feel like spending a lot of money on seemingly frivolous things these days.  I’d rather spend money on experiences I can have with Ken and Julia than on things for myself.  Julia did sleep until 7 AM this morning, which was a lovely treat!   Tonight, Ken and I are going out for a nice dinner at Woodberry Kitchen and frankly, I wouldn’t mind treating myself to a manicure and pedicure (which I might actually do on Friday morning while Julia’s at daycare!) but aside from that, there’s not much I want for my birthday this year.

In Julia news (which is way more important these days than my birthday!), she is now 11 months old and is fully mobile!  She is crawling all over the place and has gotten very fast.  She also has started trying to crawl up the stairs, though luckily she can only get up one step at a time so far.  She’s begun pulling up to stand on her knees and occasionally on her feet and I’m sure that within the next 2-3 months she’ll be walking and then running from place to place!  Last week, while Mona and Robert were here visiting, Julia started clapping her hands.  It’s absolutely adorable… we’ll prompt her by saying, “Yaaaaayy Julia!” and she’ll clap!  She sometimes does it at very funny times, too: while we’re changing her diaper, while she’s eating, or in the middle of nursing.  9.8.2013

She is a very easy-going baby: she loves going on the swings at the park, she loves being around people and interacting with people: singing, clapping, laughing, etc.  She enjoys her swimming classes at the Y each Saturday morning, and these days she’s very happy taking walks in the stroller (though she has an annoying tendency to fall asleep an hour into the walk when we are just a block from home).  She’s not a very good day-time napper but she generally sleeps 11 hours at night time, so I’m not complaining (though her daycare teachers don’t have fun trying to get her to nap)!  As far as food is concerned, she will eat anything we give her.  Some of her favorites these days are yogurt, any kind of fruit, oatmeal, waffles with almond butter, salmon, chicken, matzoh ball soup, pickles, gefilte fish, hamburger, challah, cheese sticks, etc.  She really isn’t a picky eater and I’m hoping we can avoid her becoming a picky eater by continuing to give her whatever we are eating for meals.  My theory is that the more we expose her to early on, the more likely she is to be willing to try anything.  I don’t want one of those kids who will only eat chicken nuggets, macaroni and cheese or pizza.     9.8.2013(2)

We had a wonderful visit last weekend (for Labor Day) with Ken’s parents, though sadly Robert wasn’t feeling well for part of the time, and Ken was on call on Monday and ended up spending the majority of the day driving back and forth between home and the hospital.  It was still nice to see them and I’m glad they got to spend some quality time with Julia.   9.8.2013(6)

9.8.2013(7)

9.8.2013(8)

9.8.2013(9)

This past week we had a wonderful time at Rosh Hashana services at a Modern Orthodox synagogue in Pikesville and this upcoming weekend we are looking forward to seeing our old friends Rabbi Uri & Dahlia who recently moved to Rockville, MD.  We’ll be joining them at their new shul for Yom Kippur services Friday night and Saturday.

In a couple of weeks we are excited to be celebrating Julia’s first birthday and we are thrilled that so many of our family members and friends will be joining us to celebrate with her!  Originally I had elaborate plans to make it a Mardi Gras themed purple, green and gold birthday party with mask-decorating, a King Cake and jambalaya, mardi gras beads for all the guests, etc. but then Ken and his parents talked me out of that idea and instead it’s just going to be a quiet affair at our house with family and a few friends.  I’m thinking of getting 3 or 4 different types of cupcakes so that people can choose what they want, and we’ll probably stick to basics for food: bagels with cream cheese and lox, fruit salad, some veggies and dip and maybe a pasta salad and Ceasar salad.

Don’t worry, there will be plenty of photos of all our adventures in the weeks to come!  Until then, have a lovely Monday and Happy Birthday to me!

Leave a Reply

