My First Stitch Fix: A Review

I first heard about Stitch Fix about a year ago when my friend Courtney, who is also the La Leche League leader in New Orleans, posted a review of her experience with Stitch Fix on her own blog, here.  You can also read more about the whole concept at their website, using my referral link: Stitch Fix

Basically, the way it works is like this:

First, you fill out a survey about your personal style and body type: what size you wear, are your arms short, average or long?  Do you like preppy clothes, the Bohemian style, or edgy? And you fill out information about how much money you are generally willing to spend on various items of clothing: do you want “the cheaper the better” or are you willing to spend between $100 and $150 on a jacket?  You can also include links to your Pinterest boards so that they can get a sense of your style outside of just their little survey, and you tell them what you’re looking for: mostly casual?  Mostly work clothes?  Date night items or fancy formal affairs?

Then, you schedule your “fix.”  You pay $20 and a stylist will pick out 5 items to send you.  You can choose to have just clothing or you can get 4 items of clothing and one piece of jewelry.  If you decide to keep anything, the $20 goes toward the cost of that item.  Anything you don’t choose to keep, you can send back with free shipping.  You have 3 days to try everything on.  If you happen to love everything in the box, you get a 25% discount for keeping the whole box.    When you schedule your fix, there is also a place to add comments, so for example if you really want a dress you can ask for a dress, or if you really don’t like horizontal stripes, you can include that in the comments.  Additionally, if there’s an event you have coming up like a wedding or a job interview, you can mention that and they can try to pick out items that might work well for that event.

So I mentioned in my comments that I am a mother to a 1-year old, which means I need clothing that is baby-friendly in terms of being easy to wash (I didn’t really want a bunch of items I would have to dryclean) and I also mentioned that since I’m still breastfeeding, I needed breastfeeding-friendly clothing.

My Stitch Fix box arrived yesterday!StitchFixI knew it was scheduled to arrive yesterday and I had already mentioned to some friends that I was irrationally excited about it getting here.  Upon opening the box, I was pleased to see how nicely packaged the clothes were.  There was a little envelope on top with some important information:StitchFix2They include a list of all the items they’ve chosen for you, and they also include styling cards that provide suggestions about how to wear each item they’ve sent: StitchFix7They recommend that you try everything on with other items in your closet that you already own.  On their website they do stress that they’re not trying to send you complete outfits but rather, individual items that you can mix in with your already-existing wardrobe to spice things up a little bit.

So that’s what I did… I wanted to see how each item would work with things I already own.  Luckily, everything fit, which tells me that I correctly filled out their style/size profile.  And here’s what I got (I apologize that the colors/lighting in the photos is not great… Ken took these photos on my phone at night in our bedroom (with a green wall behind me).  Next time I’ll try to get some better photos:

Tua Rowson Shoulder Button Striped Shirt, $38StitchFix5

I liked the colors and the overall style of this shirt, and I liked the button detail on the shoulder.  I liked that the shirt was a little longer than some others I own.  I did not like the horizontal stripes (across my post-baby belly, they do not flatter me at all) and I also did not like that the material was rather thin and clingy.  I ended up sending this shirt back.

Black Swan Olive Fit & Flare Ponte Dress, $78StitchFix4I loved the color of this dress (kind of a burgundy/maroon color) and I really liked the material.  It was a thicker heavier fabric and it had nice detailing and stitching to keep the shape very flattering.  When I twirled around in circles, the skirt twirled beautifully so it would have been great for dancing!  I did not like that the waist came up so high on my body and I also did not like that the dress was a little shorter than would be appropriate to wear to work.  I generally try to get items of clothing that I can wear both to work and for every day wear (with a few exceptions of course), and this dress did not fit that criteria.  I ended up sending this back.

Next was a cardigan: Mak Jaclynn 3/4 Sleeve Button-Up Cardigan, $38

StitchFix6This is not the greatest photo… I liked this cardigan just fine.  The color was kind of a mustard color.  The cardigan fit just fine, though the buttons did pull a little bit when it was buttoned shut.  The material was nice and soft and it seemed to be well made.  The problem with this item was 2-fold: first, cardigans have always been my “security blanket” item of clothing.  I have way too many of them already and I really don’t need any more.  Second, I already have a cardigan that is very similar in color, shape and material.  There was nothing really special about this cardigan and I felt that I could easily have gotten one very similar from a store like Old Navy for half the price.  If there had been something special (beading, stitching, lace or some other detail) I would have considered it but it was really just a plain cardigan.  I sent this one back.

Finally, my two favorite items, both of which I ended up keeping:

Mystree Beatty Striped Ruffle Detail Blazer, $48StitchFix3and the Bay To Baubles Faceted Bubble Necklace, $32StitchFix8

I had apparently pinned this necklace to one of my boards three different times so the stylist made sure I got it! 🙂

The way the math worked out is like this: I had already paid the $20 styling fee.  The two items came out to $80 but if you subtract the $20 I already paid, they ended up costing $60.  If you ask me, $60 is not a bad price to pay for a jacket and a necklace.  I feel that I will get a lot of use out of both items.  And think of it this way: if I had gone shopping to try on five items, I probably would have spent $20 on gas, mileage, lunch or a snack at the mall, etc. and going to the mall with a baby in tow is a close-to-impossible challenge.  She does not like to sit still while I try on clothing, find the right size, decide what to get and pay.

Overall I was very satisfied with my experience even though I only ended up keeping 2 of the 5 items in my box.  I did like the other items just fine, they just weren’t quite what I was looking for.  They recommend on their website that you give very detailed feedback on each item so that they can do an even better job picking out the items for your next fix.  I’m very happy to have found this service and will definitely be using it again in the future!  Especially for mothers, it’s a very convenient way to shop!

3 thoughts on “My First Stitch Fix: A Review

  1. Pingback: My second Stitch Fix is on its way! | My Little Poppyseed

  2. Pingback: Stitch Fix #3 is on its way! | My Little Poppyseed

  3. Pingback: Stitch Fix #4 | My Little Poppyseed

Leave a Reply

