Happy Thanksgivukkah!

I just want to wish anyone reading my blog a very Happy Thanksgivukkah!  I hope you all enjoyed a peaceful and delicious meal with your loved ones.  This was my first time making Thanksgiving dinner and I am proud to say that the meal was quite a success.  My in-laws arrived last night to celebrate this once-in-a-lifetime convergence of Thanksgiving and Hanukkah (apparently the next time that will happen will be some 70,000-something years from now?).  They arrived just in time to light the Menorah for the first night of Hanukkah.  Hanukkah

Hanukkah2

After lighting candles, we put Julia to sleep and then enjoyed a lovely dinner together.

Today was spent mostly cooking the meal (though I had followed my mother’s advice to do some of the cooking on Tuesday night and some Wednesday night in preparation for today.  Ken was an excellent turkey carver (I thank his surgery skills for that): Thanksgiving(5)

and we all enjoyed the meal (which included turkey, stuffing, cranberry sauce, gravy, string beans and butternut squash soup, followed by apple pie for dessert).  Thanksgiving(8)

Hanukkah5

Even Julia enjoyed it (this was her squealing with delight after devouring some turkey and cranberry sauce).  Thanksgiving(9)Tonight we are NOT going shopping and I do NOT intend to wake up at the butt-crack of dawn in order to go find any not-so-good Black Friday deals.  I might take my in-laws up on their offer to babysit 🙂 so that I can go get a manicure & pedicure… we’ll see though.  Unfortunately Ken has to work and then his parents will be leaving Saturday morning after breakfast.  We are having a lovely visit though, and are glad they were able to come spend the holiday with us!

Happy Thanksgivukkah to all and to all, a good night!

One thought on “Happy Thanksgivukkah!

Leave a Reply

