Stitch Fix Review #2

My second Stitch Fix box arrived yesterday!  But now I have ahead of me the difficult task of deciding what to keep and what to send back.  Unlike last time, when there were pieces that didn’t fit quite right or that I didn’t really like that much, this time everything fits perfectly.  Also, I put up photos of each of the items on Facebook and got very positive feedback about all of the items.  So I have some tough choices to make.  But first… the review:

After receiving my last Stitch Fix box, I tweaked my Style Profile a bit to make sure that I was accurately describing my body shape, and the style of clothing I was looking for.  I also sent very detailed feedback about the items that came in my last box to make sure that my Stylist knew exactly what I was and was not looking for.  When I requested my Fix this time, I asked for no cardigans since I have too many, and I asked for a pair of pants and a dress.  I also worked a bit on my Pinterest board over the past couple of months to make sure I was leaving more detailed information about what I like and don’t like, etc.

When I got home from work yesterday, my box was waiting for me! stitchfix(10)

After putting Julia to sleep, I opened it up to see what was inside:stitchfix(2)

Of course it was nicely packaged and I first took out the list showing me what was included, along with styling tips for each item and a note from my stylist.

stitchfix(3)First up was a necklace: the Aster Gold Tube Necklace, which goes for $44

stitchfix(5)I don’t wear a lot of jewelry… partially because Julia likes to pull on it but also because I’m lazy and forget to put it on.  When I do wear jewelry, I prefer bigger pieces that make more of a statement.  To me, this necklace is a little too subtle.  It’s very dainty and pretty but too subtle for me.  It’s also $44 which is a bit much for a necklace I don’t think I’ll wear often.  I probably won’t be keeping this necklace.

Next up was a lovely dress, the Carrie Polka Dot Fit & Flare Dress, which goes for $48stitchfix(6)

stitchfix(8)

stitchfix(9)I like this dress a lot… it’s very versatile as it can be worn for work or for going out.  It’s just long enough for work and since it’s fairly simple it can be dressed up or down.  The material is also very nice and subtle, I like the shape of the dress with the pleats, and it’s lined with a zipper down the back.  It does seem to be very well-made.  Also, the price is right at $48.  For a dress I can easily wear to work, $48 seems like a very reasonable price-point.  I will probably keep this dress.

Next there was a sweater, the Naima Tribal Print & Stripes Sweater, which goes for $48stitchfix(7)

At first I wasn’t so sure about this sweater… the pattern is not one I would ordinarily pick out and the shape is a little funny.  It’s sort of a cropped sweater so I thought it would be too short and boxy.  But the more I look at the picture of myself in the sweater, the more I like it.  I also have gotten a lot of positive feedback from people about the sweater from photos I shared online.  It’s a nice material and the price is right in line (maybe a little high) with what I would ordinarily spend on a sweater, especially one I thought I would get a lot of use out of.  I could see wearing this with dark jeans (like in the photo above) or with leggings and boots for a more casual look.  I’m still not sold on the sweater but it’s possible I’ll choose to keep it.

Next up was a pair of pants, the Kayla Skinny Jean, which go for $98 and a shirt, the Mission 3/4 Sleeve V-Neck Blouse, which goes for $48stitchfix(4)First up… the pants.  I LOVE THEM.  I love the color, they are super soft and comfortable, just stretchy enough, they fit perfectly.  It feels like wearing leggings but they’re jeans.  They’re amazing.  $98 is a lot to spend on a pair of pants but I do feel like I will get a lot of use out of them.  I liked the way they looked with flats or with boots, they can be dressed up or dressed down.  I can’t say enough good things about them.  I love them.

The shirt I’m not sold on… it’s okay.  It’s a nice material and shape, I do feel like I would wear it for work or for casual but it’s not perfect… the material is a little itchy, and it pulls a little around my chest.  It’s fairly basic and I do feel like I could probably find something similar from Old Navy or Loft for half the price.

Right now I’m leaning toward keeping the pants, the dress and the sweater and sending back the shirt and the necklace.

The Math: 

Because I had shared my referral link with so many people who signed up for their own Stitch Fix, I had $50 in credit going into this month’s box.  So I didn’t have to pay the $20 styling fee this time around.  Which means I still have $30 in credit to use.  So here’s how the math works:

Dress ($48) + Pants ($98) + Sweater ($48) = $194 – the $20 I already “paid” for the styling fee and the $30 I have in credit = $144 for 3 items that I feel I will get a lot of use out of.

I think I will sleep on it one more day and try everything on again tonight before making a final decision but for now I’m leaning toward keeping those three items.

Thoughts from my lovely blog readers?

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Stitch Fix Review #2

  1. Love the dress! The skater skirt looks great on you! The pants are fabulous but I don’t know if I could part with that much money for them. I agree on the necklace, and I would pass on the shirt. The sweater I’m not sure on but if you love it go for it! Great box this time!!!

  2. I love the dress and pants. I’m on the fence with the sweater mostly since you commented on the length. I just hate having short sweaters, but it does look wonderful on you.

  3. Pingback: Stitch Fix #3 is on its way! | My Little Poppyseed

Leave a Reply

