Stitch Fix Review #3

My third Stitch Fix arrived yesterday!  Though I love Stitch Fix as a concept and I have enjoyed the experience, to be honest I was a little disappointed with this Fix overall.  I’ll explain below… But first, the experience: I have never had a problem with my Fixes being delivered and they’ve always come right on the day they say it will arrive.  It was waiting on my doorstep for me when I got home from work yesterday. stitchfix1

I opened it up and as usual, the items were beautifully packaged–the fabric belt from one of the dresses was used as a ribbon to tie the clothing together in a cute little bundle.  It was lovely! stitchfix3

stitchfix4

I first took a look at the note from my stylist and the list of items I received.  In this month’s fix, I got 2 dresses, a shirt, a sweater and a scarf.  stitchfix2

My stylist mentioned that she looked at my Pinterest Board and that she included two dresses she thought would be good for work.  She also must have read the notes I included after my last Fix because I specifically mentioned that I wanted something that would be good for spring and that I wanted something with a Chevron print.  The one thing I don’t think she really paid attention to though, was that I specifically asked for more bright colors and springy colors.  Aside from the one dress, everything else is kind of in fall/winter colors and is not bright and colorful for spring and summer.  With spring and summer coming up I want to steer away from the dark colors that I wear all fall and winter and start experimenting with brighter colors.

I started by trying on the scarf… the Linda Mini Chevron Infinity Scarf–it’s an infinity scarf with a black and white chevron print.  The fabric is soft and light so it’s not a warm wintery scarf but it’s still fairly dark in color and will be worn mostly in the fall and winter.  I love it though, so I think I’m going to keep it.  I also love that infinity scarves can be worn in so many different ways and I’m glad to finally have something with a chevron print on it!   stitchfix5

I just might have to put it away for now until the fall.

Next up, I tried on the shirt and the Chevron-print dress.  The shirt is the Percey Abstract V-Neck Sleveless Blouse and the dress is the Sansa Dotted Chevron Print 3/4 Sleeve Dress.  Both of these items were so small that I could barely get them on.  This is the first time that any of the items in my Stitch Fix boxes have been that off in size.  Up until now everything has fit, though it may not have looked great or fit perfectly, I was at least able to put everything on to try it on.  But the dress was so small I couldn’t even get it over my head and the shirt was very snug around my big chest.  Both of these items are being returned.  stitchfix7

stitchfix8

The shirt itself was in very dull boring colors and the print was kind of weird.  The fabric was nice and soft and I liked the styling suggestions–they recommended pairing it with a pencil skirt for work or with a pair of jeans and a blazer or cardigan for casual.  I could see how it would work for a day at work but there was nothing very special about it.

The dress was in fun fall colors and I thought it would look very nice with leggings and a pair of boots for fall or winter.  There was a very similar dress that I had pinned on my Pinterest board but I didn’t think I would get something like this for the spring or summer.  It was also so small that I couldn’t even get it over my head… so the sizing was clearly off on these two items.

Next up there was a sweater/shirt combo thing, the Benzer Mixed Material Dot Print Sweater… when I first took it out of the box I really liked it.  It’s in a fun bright blue with white polka dots and a very soft material.  It’s totally me… until you look below the waist and notice that there’s shirt material hanging down that’s attached to the sweater.  stitchfix6

I liked the colors and the neckline, which you can see in the photo above.  But the shirt part hanging down was a little weird.  stitchfix9

stitchfix10

It just makes it look like you forgot to tuck in your shirt and like your sweater is too short.  Or it looks like your sweater doesn’t fit.  Unfortunately the way the shirt is attached makes it such that you can’t tuck it in without also tucking in the sweater.  Also… why buy a sweater with a shirt attached that you want to tuck in to hide?  And it’s $78 which seems like a lot to spend on an item that is this strange.  So this item is very weird… and confused… and it’s being returned.

And last but not least there was this dress… the Bethenney Cotton Cap Sleeve Belted Fit & Flare Dress.  The moment I took it out of the box I fell in love.  I love everything about it!  stitchfix11

It’s a beautiful lacy dress with a pink bottom layer and an orange top layer.  I love the shape of the dress with the pink leather belt around the waist.  I love the v-neck neckline and the cap sleeves.  I love the length of it, too.  It’s very well made with a zipper down the back and belt loops for the belt.  It’s also very nice and soft.  I like the way it makes me look from the side too: stitchfix12

and it can be dressed up with a blazer and heels or dressed down with sandals and a jean jacket or cardigan.  It’s fancy enough to wear to a wedding, nice enough to wear to work but also casual enough to wear for a day out with my family!

And… it has pockets!  stitchfix13

So needless to say, I am keeping this dress.  It’s like this dress was made for me.  I absolutely love it!

Of the three stitch fixes I’ve received, I would say this was the least pleasing of them… two of the items didn’t fit at all, one was strange and two worked well but one was just a scarf, which I don’t think I’ll wear until the fall.  My stylist didn’t seem to read my feedback about how I wanted brighter colors for spring and summer, though she clearly did read my specific request for some Chevron print and a good spring-time dress.

I’m still going to stick with Stitch Fix since overall I have been pleased and I enjoy the experience but I hope my stylist pays a little more attention to what season it is next time and honors my request for brighter colors.  So far I’ve been getting a Fix every 3 months which seems to work well.  More often than that would get to be too expensive but it’s nice to get one or two new things every few months like that.  I think I will be scheduling my next fix for the beginning of August, just before our trip to Aruba.  Hopefully I can get a couple of items that will work well on our vacation!

And if you’re interested in checking out Stitch Fix for yourself, please use this REFERRAL LINK so I can get credit!  🙂

Leave a Reply

