Nursing a Toddler

This is what it’s like to nurse a toddler: 7.24.2014

Yesterday while she was nursing, Julia started bumping my nose, so I said “honk honk!”  She’d unlatch for a moment to giggle then latch back on.  “Honk honk!”

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about when/whether to start weaning.  I was going to write a very long post about all the emotions I have surrounding this decision but every time I start writing it, I get teary eyed.  To make a long story short, here’s what I’m feeling…

On the one hand, Julia’s getting to be a little girl.  She’ll be 2 in October and she’s not a baby anymore.  I’m ready to have my body back and to not have to worry about whether my outfit is nursing-friendly each morning.  My body hasn’t been fully mine since January of 2012 when I first got pregnant (I was pregnant for 9 months and I’ve been nursing for 21 months) and it would be nice to have my body back for a while before we start trying to have a second baby (which we aren’t planning for a while, but still…).  We’ll be going away to wine country for one or two nights when we’re in California over Thanksgiving (leaving Julia with my parents overnight for the first time ever!) and I’m thinking that might be the perfect time to wean her.  Leading up to that trip I’ll do the “don’t offer, don’t refuse” approach and then when we come back I’ll tell her the milk is all gone.  She can have whole milk while I’m gone and then when we return we’ll be done nursing.

But on the other hand, she’s only little for a short period of time… it would be nice to know that we kept nursing as long as she wanted to and that we stopped on her terms.  Nursing is such a wonderful tool to have when she’s sick, when she gets hurt, when she’s tired, on airplanes, or to comfort her when she’s scared.

I’m not sure yet what I’m going to do… but I know that our nursing relationship is starting to come to an end and just thinking about it makes me feel very emotional.

Enough about that… here are some pictures our friends shared from a couple weekends ago when they came to visit from Delaware.  Such a fun visit! 7.24.2014(4)

7.24.2014(3)

7.24.2014(2)

Leave a Reply

