Sticker Chart

Julia has started showing more and more interest in the potty but recently she’s figured out that asking to sit on the potty will get her out of whatever she doesn’t feel like doing at the moment, so if we’re in the middle of getting ready for bed she’ll ask to sit on the potty to delay the inevitable.  I decided that we should start using a sticker chart as an incentive… so now she gets one sticker for going #1 in the potty and two for going #2.  2.9.2015(6)

We only started using it on Thursday and it’s already gotten quite a bit of use!  Friday night at Chabad (we went for Shabbat dinner), Julia used the potty there twice so she got to put two stickers on her chart for Friday.

She’s still not able to tell us before she needs to go so at this point we still need to ask her if she’d like to sit on the potty but if we ask at the right time (or put her on when we know her diaper is dry after a nap) then she’s actually able to go.  We’re in no rush to actually potty train her because we don’t feel inconvenienced by diapers in any way but it’s nice that she’s starting to be excited about it!

 

2.9.2015(9)Ken was on call this weekend so Julia and I spent a lot of time together keeping ourselves occupied (I cannot wait until Ken’s test is over and done with in a few weeks so we can have family weekends again).  2.9.2015(5)

Saturday morning we went to the Frozen-themed storytime at the bookstore that’s close to us… Julia wanted to stand right in front to see the pictures and she loved that they had cookies and milk as a snack! 2.9.2015(8)

After storytime we came home for lunch and naptime.  At home our special treat for Julia was always that she got to have “Mommy milk” at naptime and nap in Mommy & Daddy’s bed but nursing to sleep for naptime has been interfering with her naps at school so we decided it was time to find a new naptime routine.  I’m so glad that it was a fairly easy process both days this weekend… Julia took naps both days without nursing and without too much of a struggle! 2.9.2015(4)

It means I actually get some time to myself to get stuff done, read, relax, nap, or do whatever I feel like doing.  It was lovely!

In the afternoon we watched Frozen together before going over to play with a friend and have dinner at her house.  2.9.2015(7)

Sunday morning we had Julia’s music class and then our afternoon plans got cancelled so instead we went on a loooooooong walk and stopped at the playground since the weather was a bit nicer yesterday afternoon!  Julia had fun on the swings for a few minutes and then played in the sandbox for a good 45 minutes.  She was “making birthday cakes”!  2.9.2015(3)

2.9.2015(2)

 

After the playground it was time for dinner, bath and bedtime!  2.9.2015

I don’t like to talk about my work on this blog since it’s a personal blog but I do just want to mention that I am about to finish up at my current job and start a new job in a couple of weeks!  This is my last week at the job I’ve had since July 2013 and it is certainly bittersweet to be leaving.  I’ve been working part time the whole time I’ve been here which has been really nice with a little (fairly needy) toddler but I’m looking forward to taking on new challenges and learning a lot at my new (full-time) job, which I start 2 weeks from today.  Next week I’m taking the whole week off and doing things for myself–a bunch of gym classes, a movie in the theater, some fun reading at a coffee shop, maybe a little bit of shopping for myself (need some new professional clothes for my new job!) and possibly a nap or two in the afternoons 🙂

I’m sure there will be a steep learning curve and it will be stressful as we figure out what it’s like to have two full-time working parents in a family of 3, and how to handle our new schedule and Julia’s sick days, but I’m looking forward to making this transition.

 

Leave a Reply

