It’s been a while…

I apologize that it has been so long since I last wrote a blog post. I started a new job back in February which keeps me much more busy than my previous job did and therefore leaves me much less time for blogging.  I do miss blogging though, so I hope to get back into it a bit now that I am settled into our new routine. I am now working full time, whereas I was part time before.  But it’s all good… I’m enjoying my new job immensely. I enjoy the company of the people I work with, I find the work challenging and interesting and find myself using my education and training more than I have since law school. The company I’m working for prides itself on being very family friendly so if Julia is sick, I am free to bring my computer home and work from home. If I need to take a half day to go to an event at school, I’m encouraged to do so. Almost everyone works from home on Fridays so I have started doing that too. It allows me to do housework in between calls and run errands during lunchtime. There is also much flexibility in the hours I work. I’m required to do 80 hours in a two-week pay period but I can spread those hours out in a way that makes sense for me. The company also allows people to tele-work if it works for them and the project they’re on. Basically, it’s an awesome company and I’m very happy!

Since this blog isn’t about me though, I’ll give you more of what you came here for… Julia stories!

Julia is officially 2.5 now and she is quite the 2.5 year old. Ken & I comment on an almost-daily basis about how funny she is and we frequently tell each other that this is definitely the best age yet (though we find ourselves saying that about every age). Julia never (I repeat NEVER) stops talking, until the moment she goes to sleep at night. She asks lots of questions and is so curious about the world around her. She makes up stories for us (that always involve someone falling in the mud or the water) and makes up games that often involve being a monster or a lion. One of the things I love most about this age is that Julia finds such joy in things that us adults would never even notice. She LOVES finding the moon in the sky each night and proudly declares, “I FOUND THE MOON!” She also loves to find things that match… the other day she was dressed up in a new red, white and blue outfit from Bubbie & Zaydie while we went to visit Fort McHenry. Julia noticed that her outfit matched the “Oh Say Can You See Flag” and was very excited about that fact. Since Ken showed her the joy of Dandelions, she loves to find them and blow the flower into the wind. She has a huge vocabulary and often surprises us with words we didn’t even know she knew.

Here are a few recent pictures of the little munchkin:

11134041_10100739390008345_512288007345225583_n

11050706_10100779104076035_8705583317238684890_n

11356312_10100780602103975_1942859055_n

11068320_10100781145834335_1887342768_o

11269022_10100781148568855_1834824739105615293_n

10847855_10100781149916155_2386367162903247845_n

Some of the things Julia has been into lately are animals… we visited the zoo yesterday with her and joined as members so we can go back regularly now that the weather is nice! We are also members of the Aquarium, which she really loves. Her favorite things to see at the Aquarium are the dolphins, the one clown fish (which she always calls Nemo), and the jellyfish. She also has gotten very into princesses now that she’s seen Frozen, Cinderella and Sleeping Beauty. She refers to every dress as her “princess dress” and often announces that she is a princess. Whenever I wear a dress she says I look like a princess too. She has her girly side but she also loves to play with firetrucks and her doctor kit. She always gives us checkups (which usually consist of having our eyes checked and giving us lots of shots). Julia is very outgoing–she loves to sing, loves to dance, loves to run and jump. She is so happy and smiley and only occasionally pretends to be shy (but she usually warms up to people within a matter of minutes). She is truly a joy to have as a child. Of course she has her moments when she drives us nuts and frustrates us beyond measure but we love her so much and she teaches us so much on a daily basis!

Leave a Reply

