Good news and more good news!

The good news is that my HCG levels are continuing to drop.  On Monday they were down to 545, and for the first time ever, I’m excited about the fact that I got my period on Monday!  I suppose “excited” isn’t quite the right word… it’s kind of bittersweet.  I’m glad I got my period back because it means my body is going back to normal.  My body no longer thinks it’s pregnant and my uterus is shedding its lining on its own.  I should start ovulating soon and hopefully my cycle will return to normal while we wait for my HCG levels to drop to 0 and while we monitor it staying at 0 for 3 months.  But of course it’s also sad because the only reason I’m getting my period is because I’m not pregnant.  If we hadn’t lost the pregnancy, I would be 15 weeks tomorrow.  I would be starting to show, I would be getting to the point where we could find out if we were having a boy or a girl.  I would be going out to get some cute maternity clothes for the rest of the winter.  I would be telling you what fruit is most comparable in size to a 15-week baby.  So yes, I’m excited that I got my period back because finally, 7 weeks post D&C my body seems to have realized that it’s not pregnant anymore and that it’s time to move on.

Now we just continue to monitor my HCG levels weekly until we get to 0 and then monthly for 3 months before we can try again.

2.4.2016

And now the BETTER news is that over the last week or so, the potty training seems to have clicked for Julia!  The progression she had to go through was this:

1) First she could tell us after she went pee or poop in her diaper.

2) Then she was able to tell us WHILE she was going.

3) Finally she mastered the skill of telling us BEFORE she needed to go, and giving us enough notice to get her to the potty!

On Sunday she told us multiple times that she needed to go peepee in the potty and she even told us twice that she needed to go poopy in the potty.  She has figured out what it feels like to need to go and she was able to communicate that to us early enough that we made it on time and she went in the potty!  HOORAY!  She’s still wearing diapers for nighttime because many nights she wakes up soaking wet, but I’m in no rush to get rid of nighttime diapers for now.  I’m just so excited that she’s gotten herself to this point and she’s becoming more and more independent.

The other day we were remarking that Julia seems to be right on the verge between being a “Toddler” and being a “Preschooler.”  She’s still a toddler at times but she’s starting to be more and more independent and is learning to do more and more things all by herself.  This is an exciting age!

Leave a Reply

