Week 6 Update

poppyseed2-0

See that?

That’s a beautiful gestational sac with a yolk sac and a lovely little heartbeat!

That’s right… we aren’t out of the woods yet, but I made it to my 6-week appointment with my old OB practice and the doctor saw exactly what he wanted to see.  I was measuring right on track for 6 weeks gestation.  He liked the size of the sac and he loved the little flicker of a heartbeat that he saw.  He warned me before the ultrasound that this early it’s often hard to see anything and he said if that was the case he would have me come back in a week to re-check things, but he saw exactly what he wanted to see and said I didn’t need to come back for 4 weeks.

I immediately let out a huge sigh of relief and felt a million times better knowing I can relax (at least a little) for now, knowing that things are where they’re supposed to be and look the way they’re supposed to look for this point in my pregnancy.

I texted the picture to our parents, all of whom let out a collective sigh of relief as well.  And even Ken (who is a worry-wart like his mother!) said we need to celebrate at least a little tonight, knowing we have a little Sweet Pea growing with a little heart of his or her own.

Next question: how and when to tell the rest of the family?