7-week update

Today, Poppyseed 2.0 and I have made it to 7 weeks.  This week I’m really looking forward to my appointment on Wednesday morning with the new practice I’ll be seeing in Harrisburg.  I’m excited that Ken is able to join me for this one and I’m really hoping the doctor will do an Ultrasound so Ken can see the little nugget and hopefully hear (or at least see) the heartbeat.

After last week’s appointment, and seeing the heartbeat, I am feeling much more relaxed about this pregnancy but it’s still easy to feel nervous not knowing what’s going on in there.  I remember feeling this way with Julia too, at least until I could feel her kicking and moving around.  Until you get that daily assurance that everything is okay, it’s easy to wonder.  Luckily this time, my symptoms are much stronger than they were even with Julia or especially with the miscarriage.  I have been having on-and-off queasiness for the last week and a half.  It’s pretty much a daily thing that I need to lie down on the couch for a few minutes every morning shortly after getting up and starting the day.  It’s gotten to the point that Julia expects me to lie down on the couch at some point in the morning.  My stomach feels in a constant state of not knowing whether I’m queasy because I just ate something or whether I’m queasy because I need to eat something but either way I just feel a little bit off pretty much constantly.

I’m also feeling absolutely exhausted, all the time.  Friday night I went to sleep around 8:30, and I didn’t get up until after 7 and yet I still felt exhausted most of the day on Saturday.  Then Sunday afternoon I took a 2.5-hour nap while Julia watched a movie, and yet I still got into bed and fell asleep about 2 seconds after my head hit the pillow.

There’s also the bloating, occasional cramping, and very sore boobs that all make it impossible for me to forget that I’m pregnant.

I’ve heard that for second pregnancies you start showing a lot earlier, and that you can feel movement a lot earlier, so I’m hoping those prove true with me and excited to find out when those things happen.  I went back to look through my pregnancy photos from when I was pregnant with Julia and I think I didn’t really start to show until close to 17/18 weeks, so if the rumor proves true then I should theoretically start showing closer to 13/14 weeks this time around (I’ve heard it’s about a month earlier the second time).  I’m still in all my regular clothes but am definitely looking forward to the day when I can put on maternity jeans without feeling weird about it since I remember those as being as comfy as pajamas or leggings!  I’m also looking forward to the end of February, when I will be getting a Maternity Stitch Fix box!  I can’t wait to see what fun items they find and pick out for me.

On that note… I’m going to get going but I’m sure I’ll post an update Wednesday after our appointment!  Keep growing, Poppyseed 2.0!