Just keeping ourselves busy!

This weekend was a very busy one but was a lot of fun!  We’ve been trying to keep ourselves busy and distracted so we keep our minds off of what is going on.  Friday night we had a family date night in with Shabbat dinner and a movie night (we showed Julia The Princess Bride since she is now willing to sit through non-animated movies)!

Saturday we had Julia’s first indoor Soccer Shots class, which was a lot of fun.  The coach was great–he’s very energetic, keeps the kids engaged, and Julia did pretty well listening and having fun. She’s very competitive (gee, I wonder where she gets that from?) so when the other team scored a goal and her team didn’t, she got very upset, but I tried to remind her that it’s about having fun and doing your best and that’s all that matters.  Hopefully she’ll keep that in mind throughout the season.

After soccer, Julia’s friend Jonah from her old school came over with his Daddy and the four of us went to the Pennsylvania Farm Show!  Luckily the “Farm Show Complex” is only about a 5-minute drive from our house because this event is like the event of the year here in Central Pennsylvania.  The event takes up the entire huge complex, and there are so many neat things to see… on Saturday we only saw about a quarter of what there was to see, so Ken and I went back on Sunday with Julia to see the parts that we missed.  There’s a big food court with unique items such as milkshakes, potato donuts, fried mozzarella cheese cubes, and burgers that are made out of 70% beef and 30% mushrooms.  There’s a big area focused on farming and agriculture, where we got to see some baby pigs, chicks hatching from their eggs, and some 3-month old calves.  There’s also a ton of vendors showing off all kinds of farming equipment and farming techniques.  In a separate area there are arts and crafts demonstrations (Julia got to watch some spinning, weaving, a pottery wheel, etc.), baking and cooking demonstrations, and the traditional county fair-type prizes for best apple pie, best chocolate cake, best quilt, best hand-sewn item, etc.  Overall the farm show was a lot of fun and certainly a uniquely Pennsylvania event, so I’m very glad we went!

Saturday night we also took Julia to a Hershey Bears Hockey game!  She did surprisingly well given that it was a 7 pm game, but when we finally got home she was totally exhausted and a little bit of a mess (she also woke up WAAAAAAAYYY too early Sunday morning, so we ended up needing a 3-hour nap in the morning on Sunday).  We went with another family with their 3 kids (and the friend of one of the kids), so Julia had a lot of fun playing with them while us parents watched the game and chatted.  We had a really nice time and hope to get together with them again soon!

15894359_10101198621968815_4651457590925955735_n

This morning I heard back from the doctor about my most recent HCG test result.  Luckily my numbers are dropping very quickly.  Last week it was still up to 119,472 but this week it’s down to just 18,000 which is a nice big drop!  Theoretically as my body starts to see it come down closer and closer to 0, the “good” side of my uterus should catch on and should start cramping and bleeding so my body can start cycling again and going back to normal.  I’m still waiting to hear from the surgeon’s coordinator about scheduling my procedure and I’m hoping it can be soon.  When I spoke with them last week it sounded like it could probably happen toward the end of the month.  This week I go back to Hopkins on Wednesday, where they’ll be checking the size of the gestational sac to make sure it’s continuing to get smaller and to see if my body is starting to reabsorb things.  I was talking to a new friend of mine over the weekend, who had 4 pregnancy losses and she totally understood what I meant when I said that our loss last year was much more shocking and emotionally difficult to process, mostly because it was our first one but that this one was less of a shock because it sort of felt like a continuation of our loss from last year, or like a cruel joke from the universe that since we handled our loss last year so well we could of course deal with another one in such quick succession.  I sort of feel like I’m ready to just put it behind us by having the surgery and moving on with our lives.  I don’t really want to wait to start “trying” since I’ve heard your fertility is greatly increased in the few months immediately following a pregnancy loss so it’s possible that I could get pregnant fairly quickly again this time around.  It’s crazy to think that when I get pregnant again, this will be my 4th pregnancy.  Hopefully this next one will be a bit more successful than the last two!

Leave a Reply

